Colouring with Faber Castell Pitt Markers

I’ve had one of those weeks that could only be described as a trial. My time and thoughts  has been taken up with a number of issues that have left little to no time to create. So that left me with a small delemma of what to  do for my Sunday post. Friday I decided to just let it go, after all I didn’t need the extra worry about such a small thing. As it turns out I do have something to show for today after all. So I’m happy.

I had a very quiet night by myself last night, so I thought it would be a good time to stamp a couple of line art images and test my colouring skills with my Faber Castell Pitt Brush Markers. I bought this set of markers a few months ago. I wandered into an art supply store and they were selling all their supplies for half price. I was just about to purchase this set online too, so I was well pleased with the saving. These are the same as the Faber Castell Big Brush Markers that are now being marketed to stampers and crafters, but with a regular brush tip.

I picked out this Chocolate Baroque Butterfly stamp. It was stamped with Timber Brown Stazon Ink onto Stampin’Up! Whisper White card stock. I wasn’t too happy with the how the first image stamped, so I conditioned the rubber by rubbing my sanding block over the raised parts. The second image came out perfectly after I did this.

I used two different blending styles to colour the images. The first was to graduate from a lighter colour into a darker colour, In this case from yellow to orange. This ink in the markers is pigment india ink, and they stay wet on the surface for a little while, which can give you just enough time to blend the colours. I blended by either smudging with my finger tip or colouring over where the colours met with the lighter marker.

With this butterfly I achieved my darker tones by layering the same colour over the top of itself. I like how these markers blend and I find they are so easy to colour with. The colour is bright and vibrant.

I cut the butterflies out and added them to an unfinshed journal page. The third butterfly is stamped directly onto my page  which has previously been applied with gesso, pastel, tape and rubons. It was purely experimental to see how the markers looked when applied to the different surfaces. You never know if you don’t try, right? As usual I’m not sure what to write for the journalling part of the journal. I think I just like to mess about with my materials. Journalling sounds like work to me, lol.

Have fun trying something new this week. I’m looking forward to a better week myself.

Categories: Art Journaling, She Had Three Hearts | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Colouring with Faber Castell Pitt Markers

  1. That butterfly stamp was a perfect stamp for coloring … and you did a magnificent job. The blending is beeeuuutiful and they look amazing on your journal page! My sisterpants gave me a set of Faber Castell markers for my bday, and I’m still learning about them as they are soooo very different from my copics. I plan on taking them with me to FLorida on vacation – we leave soon – and I’m going to play with them while sitting on the beach gazing at the ocean! Ahhhhh – looking forward to that! It’s been a stressful year … but when I look at your butterflies, I am reminded that ” …. if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation.” And that reminds me to “Flutter By Butterfly”! 🙂

  2. Saw this photo at Chocolate Barague and just had to stop in here for a closer look ! WOW, this is so gorgeous, the colours beautiful & vibrant. Love it. Have a great day, Shirley

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

