Birthday Jumbo Roses

First of all I’d like to send a shout out to Kaaren of Fat Cats Card Corner for coming to my aid this week, by having a Cuttlebug available for sale and at a fabulous price to boot! I’ve shopped from Kaarens on line store before, and I’m very fortunate that she lives not far from me, so I was able to do a pick up. This was a great savings in time, since I was impatient for a new one, and money because I didn’t have to pay for postage. Whew! And while I was there I saw some other rubbery goodness that had me drooling. Shhhhhh…..I think I’ll be making another purchase soon.

Did I have you intrigued with my sneak peek of what I’ve been creating from a couple of days ago? I hope so, because today I’ll give the ins and outs of the birthday card I’ve made.

 

One of my stamping friends is having a birthday soon, and she is a lovely, soft spoken lady, so I wanted to make a card for her that reflected her sweet nature. I thought a beautiful pink rose in full bloom was a good choise. To colour the stamped rose, I adapted a watercolouring technique to get the affect I was after. I’ve not seen this technique quite done like this, so for want of a name, I’ll call this Heated Watercolouring.

I’m using the Jumbo Rose stamp by Stampendous, stamped with versamark and clear embossed onto water colour paper. The paper I used is just cheap, heavily textured 200gsm, Canson brand. About $12 for a A3 pad of 15 sheets. Real cheap, lol.

I used my distress inks in the colours pictured above. Victorian Velvet, Dusty Concord and Worn Lipstick.

Using a big thick brush, I flood the whole of the stamped image with water. Lots of water. I went over each image (there were 6 on this size paper) several times with the water because I wanted the images flooded. You can see in the photo above and below just how much water I used. It didn’t matter that the water went out the edges since I knew I was going to be cutting the images out.

I swiped my inkpads over a craft sheet to make my pallette, then using a saturated brush, I picked up the predominant colour, and lightly but quickly brushed it around the image. You can see instantly the colour react with the water by either dispersing or concentrating. I did the same with the other colours, being careful to use a very light touch with my darkest colour. Don’t be tempted to blend the colours. The puddles of water will do it for you. Easy

Now come the heating. As the watercolours dry they leave darker edges around the edges of the puddle they are in. The heat assists in the drying and as each puddle dries off at different rates, according to how much heat is applied, it creates differing intensities of colour. I also used the force of the hotair from the heatgun to push some of the puddles to areas that had already dried, which added another layer of colour to those areas. This can take several minutes to completed dry, so at times I also walked away to do some small chores, just to let it air dry for a while too.

And this is how some of them turned out. Each one is so different, depending on how the colours blended and where the puddles pooled as they dried. Nice, huh?

I used two of the roses to make the card. One you can barely see because it is a base for the top rose, which was cut along selected petal lines to form a spiral. Dimensional foam squares where used to give it a raised effect, with the other petals only having one layer of foam and the inner most having three layers.

Love, love, love the puddles of colour. And since I made you all wait a bit longer for this beauty, I thought I’d better show you the fancy work with the Cuttlebugging and Spellbinder Fleur de Lis Doily Accents die cuts. I’m in denial about needing eye glasses, but my arms were just not long enough to get the teeny, tiny dimensionals onto this fine piece of work. So I ferretted out a pair of magnified glasses I had for emergencies. Worth the effort for the lovely layered effect, I think. I’m happy I got to make the card just the way I wanted it to turn out. The birthday girl deserves something extra special.

I hope you liked this tutorial, and if there is anything I didn’t explain well enough, just let me know in the comments. Have a creative day, no matter what you are doing. Cheers.

 

Categories: Spellbinders, Stampendous, Tim Holtz, Tutorials | Tags: , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Birthday Jumbo Roses

  1. Deb Cragan

    I love the way your mind works. The idea is inspirational and the effects and final arangement are just beautiful. Thanks for the tutorial. Deb C

  2. sarina

    What a great idea and a beautiful rose.
    grts,

    Sarina

  3. Paige

    Stunning card! Love the jumbo rose and the layers are fabulous!

  4. Beautiful card! Love all the layers. It’s so much fun adding paint to cards. Thanks for the inspiration! ~Sophia

  5. As always, beautiful! Must try this technique now. Love those edges – they are soooo pretty and delicate.

  6. Your roses are gorgeous!
    Hugs and smiles

  7. What a beautiful card. I’m going to buy myself an embossing kit now and some flower stamps so I can try this technique. TFS.

  8. RitaR

    Just found your blog …. yum!! Thank you for sharing your very special talents and thank you for describing your techniques. I’ll be trying this gorgeous rose technique very soon.

  9. Pingback: Pieces of Stampendous Dogwood « Cards by Misstreez

  10. Pat

    Beautiful card thanks for sharing.

  11. Beautiful card. Interesting technique. I have this stamp, must try this. Thanks for the great idea.

  12. Lauren

    These are just lovely. Absolutely a marvel and delicate array of beauty!

    I have a couple questions for you, if you don’t mind. Did you use embossing powder? I noticed a small white jar next to the clear watermark pad. Can I use watercolour paints? I am a visual artist, and am learning new tricks since I want to get into my own fine-art card-making business. Can you use a hair dryer instead of the embossing one you used?

    Kindest regards!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

