Brookfield Stamp Camp 2011

This past weekend I had an opportunity to attend my first Stamp Camp and I have to say it was well worth the effort of packing my craft supplies and bedding, to spend of couple of days surrounded by fun, crafting ladies and getting well fed thru out the process.

My good friend, Evie, who organizes this camp has asked me along several times in years past but I’ve either been too broke or too busy (and maybe a little bit shy too). I think next year I’ll be asking HER when the sign up begins, LOL. Evie and her small committee, are part of the Southside Stamper Inc which meet up in Greenslopes, Brisbane once a month for lots of stamping fun.

Remember, from previous posts, the card swaps I’d been making for this camp. Well these are some of my swap returns. I love looking thru them, discovering different styles and techniques and ideas. Thru swapping and sharing I got to meet a lady who I discovered ‘looks’ at a stamp image just they way I do! So glad I went to camp just to connect with a kindred spirit stamper. That will be one of my memorable moments of the weekend.

Another memorable moment of the weekend would have to be the FOOD!! Oh my goodness, were we ever looked after so well when it came to re-fueling our energy, so we could just keep on crafting. The catering at the venue will go down in my memory as one of my all time favourite dining experiences. I wanted for nothing! I can still ‘taste’ the fresh made choc chip biscuits. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten a better one.

Of course there was crafting to be done. There was a total of three workshops thru out the weekend. The first was a very handy book created by Jane Norrish. Unfortunately, by the time I got to camp (late) I was so dog tired to make mine, but it was fun watching everyone put theirs together, but you can see some of them on the table in the pic. Saturday, we made a decor item with a wooden block, by Kasha Rolley. Mine would be the second one from the left. Instead of making mine a hanging picture I made mine a photo holder.

I used some of the techniques and ideas I’ve been getting from She Had Three Hearts Online Workshop, to embellish my block. Thats whats so fun about mixed media work, anything goes. 

We were all issued with a challenge pack, and cahllenged to make something from the items in the pack. We had three sheets of 12×12, some die cuts and embellishments to work with and we could add our our stamps, inks and punches. I love challenges!

I had my new Tim Holtz Bitty Grunge stamps with me, which I used to add texture and pattern to my bits and pieces.  There were so many creative pieces made with this challenge pack and I was very inspired by all the finished projects.

I had to leave early on the last day, but before I left I got to eat another delicious meal. All the food looked so yummy that I couldn’t resist heaping my plate up. I wouldn’t normally eat so much at once, but I got thru all this lot bar the strawberry. I just couldn’t fit it in and it looked so tasty too. Shame.

The last thing I worked on before I left was one of my Art Journal pages. Here I adding more colour to my doodled flowers with my Faber-Castell Pitt Brush Markers. This page is a learning exercise in how these pens blend and layer, and I think I’ll be using them a lot more because they are great to work with.

I was also approached to do a quick demo for the camp, one was to do an introduction to Pan Pastels and the other was making Paper Roses. I felt honored to be asked on my debut Stamp Camp to show the girls something of what I know and create. Thanks ladies for making me feel welcomed.

I’m looking forward to my next Stamp Camp. I’m hooked!

Categories: About me, Impression Obseesion, The Craft Room | Tags: , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Brookfield Stamp Camp 2011

  1. Hi Teresa,
    It was a great camp wasn’t it, gets better every year so hope to see you there next year. Loved your presentation on pan pastels and also loved your swap card, thanks for that.
    Jane 😉

  2. Looks like you had sooo much fun, Theresa. And your creations are spectacular. I feel like all the things we are learning from Christy help to expand our crafting repertoire. Besides it’s so much fun. You are doing an awesome job. I’m sooo far behind.

  3. OH my stars, Theresa – how do I love thee! Let me count the ways! I have been missing out on your recent posts and it was the lovliest of mornings for me to sit here and catch up with all you are doing! Phew — Stella has found her groove! YOU are one amazing talent my dear. Christy’s 3-hearts class has definitely opened the door to your heart in wonderful ways! LOVE all that you are doing! That’s it — I’m moving to Australia! 🙂 Thank you for the smiles, my friend!

  4. Bridget Larsen

    Ok where can I sign up for the food tee hee, looks like an awesome camp, I have never been to a stamp camp in Australia

  5. Looks like you had a wonderful time. love those handmade flowers,stunning. Thanks for sharing your weekend
    Hugs Julie P

  6. Pingback: Stamp Camp 2013 Name Tags | Misty's Mess

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

