Looking For Some Inspiration in the Meadows

The Stamp Camp I recently signed up for is getting closer and I still needed to get some swaps done. So I pulled myself away from my Art Journal and devoted more time for the swap committment. My head wasn’t geared into making a card, let alone multiples of the same design, so I had to come up with a plan, and I needed some inspiration.

To kick off, I settled on using my Insightful Meadows stamp set. It’s one of my all time favourite  sets. I looked thru my creations to see if there was anything in there that I wanted to reproduce. Ummm…no. So I settled on google search to see if there was something out there in cyber space using this set. Aahh…yes. I stumbled upon Tiff Johnsons blog post where she made a pretty card using a watercolour technique. So with stamp set and idea in my head I was good to go.

I used the Watercolour Crayon technique as descibed in this post, for stamping my flowers. However this time I did something a little different. Instead of using water to spritz my rubber, I used a home made shimmer spray. I chose a couple of colours with a light tint, as I was more interested in getting the shimmer, and not the dye colour thru the stamping. It was also a good excuse to use up some unused sprays so I could empty my mini misters. Shimmer is always tricky to photograph, but you can see the subtle sheen in some of the flower heads in the pic below.

 

 

I used three different stamps, each with a different colour combination, to stamp my meadow scene. This type of watercolour stamping is so much fun because you don’t know how each image will look until you lift the stamp from the paper. Did I put the right colours together? Did I spritz too much? Not enough? Will the colours overblend and make a muddy puddle? So it is always a delight to lift the stamp and see something pleasing. And since I was making multiple cards, each one looks just a little bit different.

After all the stamping was complete, I brayered Stampin’ Up Daffodil Delight dye ink in to one corner. It reminds me of a hot summer afternoon, lying down amongst the grass. At this point I remembered the splatters of colour that Tiff used on her card and thought that would be nice inclusion. I rubbed some crayon onto my craft sheet and heavily spritzed it with my shimmer spray. Then using my brush, flicked it all over the image, but being careful to leave the upper right corner clear.

Instead of a matting  my stamped image, I opted to draw free hand a very narrow border with Stampin’ Write markers. I felt this kept the ‘framing’ light and airy, just like the image. This was then mounted onto a Daffodil Delight card base to finish it off.

I thoroughly enjoyed making this card. It’s a fun technique and I love the hint of shimmer embedded into the image. If you think you might like to try this twist on an old technique I’d love to hear about it.

Hope you all have a wonderfully creative week!

Categories: Uncategorized, Unity Stamp Co | Tags: , , | 17 Comments

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “Looking For Some Inspiration in the Meadows

  1. Love it. I’d certainly love to recieve one of these cards, you have done it justice. I reckon it will be the first to go, mind you I haven’t seen the others 🙂

  2. Traci Major

    Theresa, these are gorgeous!! So many added ideas that I have not seen before, like the brayered yellow to “feel” the sunshine and the drops of blue really make this meadow sing with color!!

  3. This is MAJORLY gorgeous! Thanks so much for the shout out and I’m glad to see the inspiration being passed on to others 🙂

  4. Ohhhhhh! I love the look of this! I think I just may have to buckle down and clean up my area! You’ve inspired me to just PLAY, which may be what my missing mojo needs!

  5. Love your card and technique

  6. These are sooo pretty – must have a go at that technique.

  7. I just discovered your blog through SCS and you do beautiful work! I love these cards, the colors, the images are just beautiful!

  8. Theresa, this is such a beautiful work of art. Just looking at it makes me happy; it is GORGEOUS!!

  9. Jean Cross

    So beautiful, clever, and unique. Ahhhhhhhhh.

  10. Cathy

    I love watercolored cards and thinking will give this one a try.

  11. Maxine Austin

    I have only just subscribed to your site,and love this technique you have achieved..I live in the south of WA.and am getting to be an addict of flower making..I spend many hours a day at my desk. I look forward to following your work. I like what I see. Maxine

  12. Adair

    Your card is exquisite!!! I hope you don’t mind that I would like to try this out. I have this fabulous Unity stamp set, too! Wonderful work!

  13. Lorene Miller

    thank you for sharing. The card is beautiful and looks like it could be made easily. I live in Az,USA so I understand the hot weather,
    Thank you,
    Lorene

  14. Pingback: The Pinspiration Project – Watercolor Flowers | Eternally Inspired Mama

  15. Love the sense of freedom with this card…hope to get that feeling in my cards…thanks for sharing…I love it!!!

  16. This card is just so beautiful. I don’t have your talent but I will make an attempt. Can only try!!!!!! …….Glenis (NSW)

  17. These are just amazing. Thanks for the inspiration. I really want to give it a try

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

