Watercolour Paper Roses

I’m still playing around with my new Rose Creation dies and this time I wanted to work with water colour paper. The water colour paper I use is made in Australia by Art Spectrum, and it’s 300gsm so it is quite thick and sturdy, but still easy enough for me to curl.

First I colour the water colour paper using the ‘wrinkle free distress’ technique with distress inks. A tutorial for this technique can be found here.

I then cut out the shapes I need withthe dies cutting tools. For this card I’m using te Spellbinders Foliage set for the first time. One of the things I really like about the Rose Creation set is that it comes with leaves, but sometimes a girl needs some more ( or different) greenery to add to the arrangment. I’d be one of those girls.

I worked my roses as explained in the previous tutorial. This time around I wanted to try and make a rose bud. I made it with the third size up from the smallest die and wrapped a couple of the leaves round the base.

With some of the left over die cuts I made a smaller bloom. After the flowers were made I gave them a very quick spritz with some glimmermist. I then fiddled around with my leaves and flowers trying to come up with an arrangment that was pleasing. Up until now I wasn’t sure what my card layout would look like, so by making a sample arrangement I could then start to think about the dimensions of the focal panel. As you will see, the final card didn’t end up with this arrangement, but doing this helps me to keep my thoughts moving along with the card design.

I can’t show you any pics of what happens after this in the creative process. Lets just say it gets messy, LOL. By now I’ve decided on the size and shape of the focal panel. I also know by now that I’ll be making an easel card as the recipient love those kinds of cards. As I start to pull this together, I then introduce other scraps that are laying about into the design. With this card I was able to use up the last pieces of a piece of patterned paper. I love it when I get to utilize and finish off a whole piece of paper. Anyone else feel like that about their scrap stash? Anyways here is the finished card.

The recipient shares her birthday on the same day as me, but I didn’t get to see her until yesterday. This card had to be hand delivered and I think from her reaction she was happy for the wait. We attend the same card making club, and while I was there yesterday I thought it’d be a good time to throw in a quick tutorial for the girls and show them how I made these flowers.

And while at  the shop (where the card club is held), I just had to buy the Carnation Creation dies that were in stock. These latest Spellbinder dies have really got me inspired. One day I might actually get around to stamping something, but until then I’m paper crafting in a different dimension. LOL.

I’m trying some different things with this blog, so I’m wondering if any of you might like to chime in with some feed back. Do you like the larger format pics in the posts? Does it even make a difference to how you see it on your screen? Do you like posts like this with more pics and infomation? Any other feedback welcome. Thanks.

Categories: Spellbinders, Tim Holtz, Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Watercolour Paper Roses

  1. You just keep getting better and better, more and more creative. WOW! These are just stunning. I love all your roses, and at least from this perspective they are worth the mess!!LOL Absolutely beautiful fininshed project as well.

  2. WOW, your flowers are fantastic!! I love the step by step process and enjoy seeing the bigger pictures. Of course your friend loved the card, it’s beautiful!!

  3. Barbara Jay

    Thanks you very much for these instructions. Your flowers and foliage are beautiful!! I don’t have the Spellbinder flower dies ( yet) 🙂

  4. These are gorgeous! TFS the directions.

  5. Maria P

    Roses are fabulous, just went and look at oh my crafts they are out of stock, cant find the other site i’ve bought spellbinders from- oh well check it out tomorrow another day .
    Beautiful cards.

    • misstreez

      Keep looking for them. They come in and out of stock quite regularly it seems. I’m not sure where your from, but I hope you find them soon. The dies make awesome flowers.

  6. Elisha

    OOO I know what I will be trying soon!

    Love Love LOVE it!

  7. Cheryl O

    Your card and flowers are just beautiful! My goodness, you’re doing fantastic with the ink pads!!! Keep up the good work……. Stunning…..

  8. Wow – what gorgeous flowers! I do love the larger format pics as I see the detail far better. Love more pics with more info – I am a visual learner and love to look at the various steps of how things are made.

    • misstreez

      Thanks for your lovely comments and feedback. I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

