Paper Roses in Action

Today I have a card to show you, featuring one of the paper sculpted roses I’ve been making lately with the new Spellbinders Rose Creations die set. I gave this card to my mother for Mother’s Day this past Sunday.

The photos are a bit disappointing (new location and new camera hitches), but I’m sure you’ll get the idea. The SU! colours I used were River Rock, Pink Pirouette (base), Pretty in Pink, and Rich Razzleberry.

I noticed that my mother was quite taken with a vellum rose I had made, so using vellum for her card was the perfect choise. To give it a WOW factor I heat embossed the vellum using one of her favourite Stampin’ Up! stamps called Stipple Rose and three colours ( pink, purple and green) of two-toned embossing powders. I then made the rose as described in my tutorial. Vellum is a very easy medium to work with when making these lovely flowers.

We spent Mothers Day visiting the local Mount Tambourine Art & Craft Market and then enjoying a coffee overlooking the Gold Coast skyline from the hinterlands. We made sure we stocked up on our favourite hand made soaps – mine was the goats milk soap and my mother swears by the shampoo/conditoner soap for her hair. Mum loves sewing and there was plenty to inspire her. And I picked up another hand knit scarf. These are our favourite markets and we try to go several times a year. The weather was absolutely beautiful up on the mountain that day, which made Mother’s day perfect for us. Pity I forgot to take more pics.

In other news, it was my birthday last week, and my daughter (17) insisted that I come into the city and spend it with her. She wanted to spend the day and evening hanging out together. She goes to school in the city, and we find it more of a challenge to just be together relaxing, as our time is filled with study and work committments, combined with 75 min drive (or 3 hour commute for her) to see each other. So we got together and did a bit of shopping, visited some friends of mine for cake and coffee, and into the evening we went for a walk around Southbank Parklands, in the heart of Brisbane. While at Southbank we decided to go on the big ferris wheel – something we won’t do again I’m sure. I learned my little chickadee is scared of heights, poor dear. She took the pic of me above as we ate. A bit blurry but at least I’m not looking awkward as I do in most photos.

We talked, we laughed, we learned new things about each other,and we held hands as we walked along. It was a beautiful time.

I had a lovely weekend.

Categories: About me, Spellbinders | Tags: , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Paper Roses in Action

  1. Traci Major

    Your card with the vellum rose is beautiful!! It is good to see you stamping…and hearing of your time with your family!! Your photo is so cute, too!!

  2. Gloria Cardoza

    I love your card. It’s very pretty. Nice to see you having fun with your mom and with your daughter. Looks like you had a fabulous time. Like your pic. You are pretty too.

  3. Beautiful rose! What a lovely card for your mother.

  4. WOW….Vellum is gorgeous!!! This is a stunning card, Theresa. What a fun post. And smashing picture of you, friend!!! I’m ready to deal or swap to get some of those lovelies you’re making….I’m sooooo serious! Love them. Hope all is going well….

  5. Maria P

    The roses are great and your mum’s card is wonderful.
    Really great to read about your day with your daughter, I miss not doing that with my mum, but I settle with having good times with my 2 god children (girls who are i their 20’s now).

  6. Tracy

    These roses are beautiful. I am going to try different shades and patterns of yellow for my Mom

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

