Paper Rose Garden

Now I have  something much more fun and interesting to share. This past month I’ve made a few paper crafting purchases to get me back into the mood for stamping and card making. I’ve updated my Stampin’Up! colour palette (finally), bought a couple of new stamp sets and some new punches and dies. The sad news is that my new inks and card stock are still in it’s wrappers, and the rubber is uninked. But one recent purchase has been getting a big work out. And that is my new Rose Creations dies by Spellbinders.

Over the past couple of weeks I’ve cut out many die shapes with this set and I’ve  been  making a couple of these after work, in the evening and even while I’m having my first cuppa of the day.  I had recently ordered some new Spellbinder dies, but these new Rose Creations where on back order so I missed out on getting them. Imagine my delight, when I walked into my first card club day in months, and there hanging on the shop wall was a set of my much wanted dies. I grabbed the pack right there and then, opened them up and started to experiment with making the flowers.

Here is a sample of the sizes from largest ( 7.5 cm) to the smallest ( 2 cm), using some K&Co scrapbook papers.

The shop owner also showed me how to use Glimmer Mist to colour my papers, so I bought a couple of colours to experiment with when I got home. I was having fun spraying my papers but I wanted more colours to play with. I don’t live near a stamping shop, and it’d be another month before I got near one, so I thought I’d make something similar with supplies that I had on hand. I’m delighted that I’ve found a use for my retired reinker colours and my neglected Pearl Ex powders. I can also make small batches of shimmery colour which is just the right amount for colouring a couple of sheets of paper at a time. The blue and the purple roses above are altered patterned paper made with my own shimmery sprays and the yellows started out as plain whitecard stock.

I just love this last rose that I’m showing here. It’s made with some October Afternoon paper that I had in may stash. All I did to this rose was sponge ink onto the edges of the petals to create a bit of definition. The back side of the paper had a green check pattern which was perfect for the leaves, which by the way is a die shape that also comes in this set. I think I’ve got another sheet of this paper, so I’ll be making roses with every last piece that I find.

I’ll eventually incorporate some of these flowers onto some cards, if I ever get around to making one again. I also want to add magnets to the back of some and decorate my fridge. What do you think? Pretty? They sure are giving me a lot of pleasure to make and for that I’m glad.

Categories: Spellbinders | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Paper Rose Garden

  1. These are FABULOUS….all totally gorgeous. They will be breathtaking on a card…and definitely on your Fridge as magnets. Will we see a tutorial? You should sell….I’d buy!!! LOVE the last one too. Oh, I gotta have some of these, girlfriend.

  2. Traci Major

    Hi Theresa! I’m so glad you are back at your craft table…I know for me cards have come slowly as well, but it is always good to create something. And these are so lovely…you really have a knack for them. You could easily sell these, I agree. I’d be a customer. Meanwhile, thanks so much for the tutorial~

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

