100 days later.

It’s now Easter Sunday, and about 100 days have passed since we had that terrible flooding in this valley where I live. Many times I’ve come back here to write a blog post, but I always came a little bit emotionally unglued trying to write someting down. Where do I start? How do I continue? What can I say? I have noticed that many readers have come back here often to see how I was going. Thank you for your diligence in returning even though I was ‘abscent’.

This is what the flooding looked like right opposite my home. These photos where taken by my nieghbour.

This is the small farm across the road from me. On any other normal day you’d not be able to see any water, but the creek has already spilled out of it channel and is now flooding the flats.

This is what it looked like ten minutes later. The house in the distance on the right is my other nieghbour. I live between these two, and thankfully on the other side of the road, which runs along the high bank. The distant house got flooded and the house where the photos are taken from had a very narrow escape. That grey cloud in the background is part of the storm that dropped the massive amounts of rain on the range at Toowoomba which flooded that city, and also this valley.

Six minutes later the shed is nearly out of sight.

Another four minutes and the shed has disappeared from sight. Now my nieghbours have decided to get away since there was no telling when it was going to stop rising. No one had ever seen anythng like this before. I think it came up another metre over the apex of the shed at it’s peak. All this water is now on a terrible path of destruction, heading towards the little town of Grantham, a five minute drive down the road. Grantham has been nominated ‘Ground Zero’ on account of the number of lives lost and homes and properties destroyed.

I saw these photos about a month after the event. As mentioned in a previous post, I wasn’t home to see this happen. Something I am thankful for. These photos were frightening enough for me anyway.

So what have I been doing? In a word – WORK. Lots and lots of work. I’ve worked in some of the worse affected areas devastated by the floods. I still am working in these places. I’ve worked crazy long hours and crazy long weeks. Work kept the black dog of depression at bay, which was exactly what I needed after the fright I went through. But now, three months or more later, I’m ready to get back into my own personal interests and hobbies, and have a more normal life. I’ll have a post soon of some pretty paper flowers I’ve been making.

Thanks for bearing with me.

Categories: About me | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “100 days later.

  1. Theresa! So good to hear from you and know you are ok. I’m so glad that you are feeling like returning to your craft. It’s always been great therapy for me. Something about the creative process that helps when a part of your life is gone. What a nightmare…worse, because it was all really happening. Hopefully, you will have sun-filled days ahead. Thanks for the update.

  2. Gloria Cardoza

    Theresa, You have been missed and it is so good to hear from you. Good to hear your days are now brighter (thank you Jesus). Thank you for the pics. Puts it all into perspective. It’s at times like this that we are so thankful for all that the Lord has provided us. I pray all will go well for you and for the communities affected by the floods. Welcome back. God bless you and keep you. Have a blessed Resurrection Day.

  3. Deb Cragan

    Every time I see these photos I nearly cry. My brother was in Emerald and 6 months before had lived in another part of the town. At the time of the floods his house was on the only hill NOT flooded in the whole of Emerald! Prayers and money were sent and hopefully disasters will stop in Queensland. God Bless.

    • misstreez

      There are so many recent disasters, locally nationally and globally. While our area recieved a swift and deadly hit that recieved a lot of headlines, there are so many, many communities and people also trying to put their lives back together out of the spotlight. I also just moved here 6 months before the flood and one thing I look out for when I buy a home is the flooding potential of a property. This place looked safe and out of reach – and it was- but it was very close. Too close. Thanks for leaving a comment and all the best for your brother. His house may be safe but I bet his life was disrupted by this event.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

