Glitzy Blog Hop!

Our Puttin’ on the Glitz Blog Hop is over! Thank you so much for all your encouraging comments. I’ll leave my projects up for a bit longer, until my next ones are ready to go!

A big welcome to everyone coming by this here blog spot. This post was part of my first ever blog hop. Here’s how my project preparations all began…

The original plan was to make a couple of cards and a 3D off the page item. I took a slightly different route. Why? Firstly, I mostly only ever make cards. Secondly, I did attempt to make something to hang on the wall, and while the vision in my head looked great and achievable, the reality was a bit different. Lets just say I had some technical issues, and things got messy. LOL.

Even card making got challenging for me, with plan A and plan B both ending up in the bin (and embossing powder all over my table, floor and cuttlebug). So taking a deep breathe, I took my different path. I made a set of five cards instead.

So how did these five cards come about? Lately, I’ve been reading on forums about some stampers having issues with unused stamp sets, and too many supplies. So I gave myself a personal challenge to grab an unused stamp set from my shelf , and use it. The set I chose is Natures Nest by Stampin’ Up! I’ve only ever used it to make one card and I’ve owned it for about a year now. It’s a set that definitely needs to get out a bit more. I also found some left over co-ordinating cardstock from another card making project which I liked, so I decided to limit myself to the three colours in that selection.

So now I have my stamp set and my colour palette. Next thing to decide is technique and layout. Since the artwork of the stamps was rather detailed I wanted the cards to be very simple with a lot of  uncluttered’ space, and I also wanted a layout that would accomodate all five stamps from the set, so I chose a simple square-in-a-retangle design. For technique I went with my favoured paper piecing, but this time I heat embossed the image in gold to give the image a little bit more dimension. The final part of the card was the decorative ledge I created for the square panel to sit on. It is a gold embossed image from SU!’s Carte Postale set.

Here in Australia we are having our summer, and I found this to be a very seasonally appropriate set of images for this time of the year. The dragonflies are buzzing, the birds are raising their young, the peacocks out at the farm are dropping their tail feathers and I even saw a turtle bobbing around in some recent flood waters. Yes, I know the image I used is a tourtise, but I’ve got creative liecence here, LOL. And if I lived anywhere near a beach I’d have shells to look at too!

So what did I achieve? I made good use of a neglected stamp set, I used up some excess card stock and paper scraps, and by using a simple design I created a lovely set of note cards to give as a gift. It’s my mother birthday soon, so I’ll give these to her. I also stamped up some envelopes to match. Super easy!

I hope you liked my little offering today. Hope you all have a lovely day!

Categories: Stampin' Up! | 37 Comments

Post navigation

37 thoughts on “Glitzy Blog Hop!

  1. These are FABULOUS, Theresa! Love the set…and I’m so getting into botanical things right now. The soft colors are dreamy! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it!

  2. Theresa, I love your projects. They are so YOU!! Very pretty! Stay high and dry in Australia!!

  3. Pretty projects.

  4. Fabulous Theresa – Love this combination of two of my favorite sets. The embossing really kicks the collection up several notches. Your color combo is a perfect complement to these images too. Thanks for sharing the awesome inspiration.

  5. Heather

    Gorgeous set of detailed and embossed cards, Theresa. I especially like the dragonfly wings popped up !

  6. Oh what a beautiful set! I just love the color combo you kept to and each design is wonderful! I’m in love with the dragonflies with their wings lifted. Fabulous projects!

  7. RaeDeen

    What a beautiful outcome for your personal challenge! This are very pretty cards and your layout really show cases your 3D images.

  8. Theresa, great project ideas! I’m so jealous that you’re in summer right now (we’re due to get snow any minute)! TFS!!

  9. I wish it was summer here 🙂 But I really like the dragonfly card, along with the sea shell card. I would really like to get some stamps but I keep talking myself out of it lol

  10. Genia Richards

    Love the card set! It is sooo cute. Good idea about making yourself use all your stamp sets. I am just a beginner and already have accumulated quite a selection and lots of scraps. I will have to make myself a chalenge to use up the scraps for myself. Thanks for the idea.

  11. Gloria C.

    Theresa, Your creations are fabulous. Wonderful set of cards. Mum will love’m. I like how you took us down your creation thinking/road.

  12. Vicki Davis

    Your cards are amazing! I love the thought process you used in deciding the direction your cards would take. I’ve looked at several of your posts and will definitely bookmark your blog. Thank you for the great inspiration.

  13. Robyn O

    Gloria,

    Love the colors you used and the 3D effect. I think I will have to follow your example and start using the items that I have pushed aside.

    TFS

  14. Such a pretty color scheme–I especially like the feather card!

  15. Robyn

    Awesome cards Theresa!! Your mom will love them!

  16. Amy Lauterbach

    I love all your stuff on your blog, but I really like the lingerie inspired card you made.

    Thanks for sharing all of your ideas.

    Amy Lauterbach

  17. Chris Hnatiuk

    Hi Theresa! This is my first time at your Blog, and I love it! (I love your play on words for your Blog Name!!!)
    Your cards are so elegantly beautiful and soothing! Love them all!

  18. Beautiful cards! A lovely gift set to boot! So happy to be in this blog hop with you!

  19. Julie Sperman

    Beautiful cards.

  20. Anne Axelson

    What a great self challenge and you rose to the occasion! I love the softness of the palette.

  21. cards are awesone, great layout
    tfg

  22. love these nature themed cards…and the matching stamping on the envelopes is wonderful

  23. becky darling

    What great cards! They are very versatile and can be used for any occasion! Great job!

  24. Traci Major

    Theresa, this is a lovely set of cards!!
    I have so much paper, I should try this method for using up some of my lesser-used colors. I love the way you incorporated the base for your seaside theme~!

  25. Theresa, these cards just made me smile all over 🙂 I love them, each one so beautifully created – I love the softness to them, the beautiful colors and creative images – absolutely fabulous collection! Hats off to you for these stunners! Have a FAB weekend!

  26. I really really like your cards. I like different cards! Cards that you dont usually see. I liked the pop up tree card! I love to try and make pop ups work. Dont like to read directions either, Thanks for the card ideas

  27. Debbie

    I love your nature cards!!!!

  28. Leticia

    So cute. Thank you for sharing.

  29. Susan

    I love your nature cards! I am in winter (which I hate) and they remind me of Spring! Thank you.

  30. Your cards are so pretty!! I had to giggle about trying different things and not having the results you wanted, that’s happened to me so many times!

  31. Beautiful set!

  32. Missy

    Wow! Very pretty cards! Loved them all!

  33. Those are so pretty. I love the golden touch and the matching envelopes. I had to giggle about things looking so great in your head but not so much when you tried them. It’s so true! I can have an AMAZING design in my head that on paper just doesn’t do my head justice. LOL!

  34. I’ve always been fond of pink, cream and brown, what a great color combination! And it is so odd to think of it being summer where you are, we just had almost a foot of snow over the last two days and today went cross country skiing! Lovely projects, thanks for sharing!

  35. Jan R

    Beautiful cards as always Theresa.

  36. Gloria

    Hi Theresa, I had a blast doing the blog hop with you. Thank you for the nice comments you left me re: my projects. Looking forward to another hop.

  37. Marcia

    Your cards are so pretty, hope you do not mind if I use a similiar technique for a stamp class here in Ohio, I just loved what you did with that set.
    Could you send me the colors you used. Marcia

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

