Trying out for a Design Team Spot

Every season, the Clean and Simple challenge at Splitcoast Stampers, is on the look out for a new team to make card samples for their weekly challenges. I tried out for the last one a few months ago and made it through the first and second selection rounds. Even though I didn’t get into the final selection I was still happy with myself for making it into the second round. There are three rounds altogether before the final team is selected for the season.

So when I see the new Team Challenges announced a couple of weeks ago, I wanted to give it another go. I love to enter this competition, not so much to gain a spot on the Design Team, more so because I just love the idea of a challege mixed in with a bit of friendly competition. And the participants are all very friendly. This time around I didn’t get selected onto the design Team, but I did get selected for a Guest Designer spot. I think I can manage that!

So this all brings me to showing you the cards I submitted for the two rounds I was in. The first challenge was called Keeping Up With The Jones. At this time of the year there is some stiff competition to keep up with the Jones in the decorating arena, so we were required to use some sparkle and ribbon to decorate our cards.

I had some heavy cardstock wieght designer paper out doing another project, so I used it to make this whole card, from base layer to paper piecing the bauble. A little taffeta ribbon and a few self adhesive blings, and the card was done. The card took me less than 20 mins to make and the bow would have taken up at least a quarter of that time, LOL. Love a card that come together quickly! The stamp is by Unity.

Next Challenge was called Crazy Relatives, and we were required to make a card with the title of a relative on the front. I chose ‘DAD’, for no other reason than the fact, this would be the only stamp I’m aware that I own, that actually names a relative, LOL.  Thats right, I don’t even have a Mothers Day stamp – yet. So my card was based around the ‘Dad” stamp. So now I have an added challenge of making a masculine card. Trees are gender neutral, and I have a few to select from my stamp collection. This one is another Unity stamp and I like that it can be used for paper piecing, which is what I’ve done here. I added a few more leaves in for a bit more balance.

I let you all know when my turn comes up to supply a card for the team 😉

Categories: Uncategorized | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Trying out for a Design Team Spot

  1. Good for you for earning a spot as guest designer. Make sure to keep us posted when it is and we’ll play along! Nice cards too!

  2. Congrats Theresa! You’ll make a great guest designer, you’re one talented lady

  3. These are wonderful cards, Theresa! congrats on receiving an invitation for a Guest Designer spot. WELL DESERVED! I love your style and would encourage you to keep going for those designer spots. You are so inspirational (and fun)…and would be a wonderful addition to any design team. Keep us informed.

  4. Beautiful CAS cards. Congrats on being a guest designer.

  5. Traci Major

    I really like that funky tree, Theresa!! You are great at CAS, plus you pack so much design and color and creativity into each one, they are really not what I would call “simple.” Congratulations on being chosen as guest designer!!

  6. heather

    What a wonderful honor, congratulations ! Keep on trying, you are bound to earn a spot as talented as you are. I really like the paper pieced ornament card – with a bow !

  7. you make fabulous CAS cards!! and congrats on the DT!!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

