Shoebox Kit 2010

Once a month I meet up with a lovely group of card making ladies, and we share ideas and talk about whats happening in our lives. Every year, just before Christmas, we all bring a shoebox kit that we’ve prepared for everyone else in the group. There are 12 of us, so the numbers are very manageable. Just in case you’re wondering, we bring the card kits to club in a shoebox, we’re not making shoeboxes, lol.

I wanted to keep my card fairly simple, but interesting. What started out simple, turned into something a bit less simple, but the end result was worth it, I think.

This card required seven passes thru my cuttlebug, times that by 12 for the number of kits. I also overstamped my papers to add a bit of pattern and texture to what was  flat colour. I sure nkow how to make work for myself, LOL. I think the effort was well worth it, and the ladies said they liked it. And I did enjoy putting this all together for them.

My aim with this card was to create parts that were easily re-arrangable so they could customize it to suit themselves. It could also be used in a portrait or landscape orientation. I offered suggestions that it could be used as a ‘Victorian’ Christmas card, Birthday card or ‘thinking of you’, depending on what greeting was added to the blank space. I personally like my cards without the sentiment.

The bonus for me with this project was I got to use up all the papers from a retired pack of SU! designer series paper. Did any of the SU! girls recognize the Purely Pomegranate, River Rock, Always Artichoke paper from a few years back? So now I have less in my stash, and I’ve made it into something useful and pretty.

The first person to comment on this post will will bring my comment count to 500! I’d love  to sent this card to my 500th commentor as a thank you. Who will it be?

Thanks for stopping by to take a look.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Shoebox Kit 2010

  1. Me! ME!!! Wahhooooo it’s MEEEE!!!

    Only stipulation is that you have to bring the card in person!! I’ll get you visiting me yet!!!

    xoxox

  2. misstreez

    Woohoo Mads! I was thinking I should get a visit in before Christmas. Now I’ve got no excuses. It’s almost fitting that you should be the first to reply, since you where the first to leave a comment on this blog. Congrats!!

  3. kirstyscardnscrap

    Ohhh not fair!!! I was out picking up kids!!! LOL! Beautiful card Theresa and congrats Madonna!

  4. I am still hoarding some of that pretty pomegranate paper!! I love what you made! I make lots of my cards without sentiments too. Very pretty card and color combo.

  5. Beautiful card! And yes I have plenty of that paper left in my stash!

  6. Traci Major

    Hi Theresa! I have this paper also. In fact, I received two paper packs, because SU! apparently had a print problem and if you look really closely, one of the words had a double consonant, so they fixed it and sent out another pack. I never would have noticed it…It is my favorite paper, too!
    This is lovely, such a neat idea to make it alterable for different designs to the ladies who are making it. I imagine they enjoyed it so much!

  7. heather

    Wow, what a lot of work, but well worth it. Thanks for sharing your beautiful, multilayerd card

  8. Donna

    Pretty card.

  9. Theresa, we will be celebrating Thanksgiving Thursday and I want you to know that I’m thankful for the glitz girls!

  10. Gorgeous, Theresa! Just wanted to pop in and let you know that I’m grateful for you on this Thanksgiving. So fun to get to know you better through the online fun we have. While you are not celebrating our holiday there, may your day be blessed because you’ve brightened so many of mine. Love your work and love being inspired by you.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

