Hope You Can Cling To – Post Two

I’ve been spending most of my spare time working on the Hope card drive challenges  and I finally uploaded the last one today. This post I’ll show you my favourite picks from my card stash.

This one is my top pick. Love it! The challenge was 3-2-1  – use 3 pieces of patterned paper, 2 diferent embellishments and 1 ribbon. I already had the bird and border cut out, thinking I’d use them for a previous card, but never did. So I played around with the paper and the flower til I came up with something I liked. Okay…looks good so far. Now how do I incorporate the ribbon. Remember I’m just not that into ribbon on my cards. I settled on the ruffled ribbon treatment and I love it more than I thought I would. I added some stamping to the base paper too – it just seemed to need it. Love the pretty feminine feel of this card. Just my style!!

The card above was made for the Walk On By challenge – be inspired by what you see when you go for a walk. I work outdoors so I used the butterflies that I see fluttering up out of the long grass beside the roads as my inspiration. It’s spring here in Australia and it’s lovely to see the butterflies making a comeback after winter. When my mother came to visit last week, we sat down and made some more cards like this. Very pretty.

Ahhhh…the old button trick! Who can have a challenge without buttons. Buttons are in my ribbon category. I rarely use them. Okay, think, think, think girl. What can you do with buttons that is interesting? What about a little bit of button designer paper! I stamped the backround and adhered butoons inside the circle shapes. Kinda fun don’t you think? I actually like this card. It makes me smile.

Let me know what you think. I’d love to hear from you. I’ll be back with a few more cards to show you from the challenges soon.

Categories: Hope You Can Cling To, Splitcoast Stampers, Unity Stamp Co | Tags: , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Hope You Can Cling To – Post Two

  1. I think they are all totally adorable! The bird one has a nostalgic beauty, the butterflies are gently playful, and the buttons are fun and funky. What a grand display of diverse talents! Love your color schemes on all three…it would be impossible to choose a favorite. You’d grab each one for a totally different occasion…each one has an artistic message of its own. You did good, girlfriend! Can’t wait for more!

  2. Traci Major

    I think they are all wonderful, Theresa! You managed to do such an eclectic mix with each one. The first I like your bird, whether it is freehand cut or a die, I’ve not seen this…and the patterns of paper add so much interest. The second is my favorite, as I am drawn again to the texture of your background with the feminine lightness of those little butterflies…and the third is so pretty with the bright pops of buttons. The only thing that I feel let down with is that you don’t love ribbon, I don’t think I could make a card without it!! 😉 Beautiful cards!!

  3. Great cards – so had to pick a favorite! I do love buttons though!

  4. heather

    Once again you’ve done it: created three totally different styled, absolutely gorgeous cards.Thank you for sharing your creations, looking forward to seeing more =)

  5. Very pretty cards! I love your designs with them. You have an artistic touch!

  6. Beautiful cards Theresa! I love the soft pastel colors.

  7. Gloria Cardoza

    This is difficult. I like all three. But I choose the button card. No, the bird card. No, the butterfly card. See, I told you I like all three cards.

  8. Kate

    Hi, Theresa! I absolutely love your cards. The third one (the button one) really drew me in with the combination of the stamps and embellishments. Just curious, though – which stamp set did you use to create the circled background? It looks absolutely lovely, and I simply wish to replicate it (though half as well XD) at home.

    • Hi Kate. Thanks for your interest in this card. It was made a long time ago and I can’t exactly identify where the stamp comes from, but I fairly confident that it might be a Unity Stamp, and it would have come in a kit. I’ve had a look thru some of the old Unity Stamp Company sets that are still available but I can’t locate it. The stamp image was of about four or five different circles and I repeatedly stamped them to make an all over pattern. Hope that helps.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

