World Card Making Day Unity Style

The first Saturday in October is World Card Making Day, and Splitcoast Stampers and the member companies hosted a lot of great card challenges for the day. I’ve got a fair swag of Unity stamps, so I followed their list. There was no less than 23 challenges to complete.

I love participating in big challenge events. Usually I make something I’ve never tried before, I nearly always get some rubber inked for the first time, and I have a stack of cards at the end. Today I’ll show you a couple of my favourites.

This one would have to be my pick of the bunch. It reminds me of the Villeroy and Boch Design Naif Dinnerware. To colour this I cut out stencils and masks of the stamped images and applied ink with a sponge. I find this method really quick and easy, and I’ve got better control of dark to light shading. The challenge for this card was to not use patterned paper.

This one I put off until last to make. It required us to use paint. Are you kidding me? So I ferretted around looking for brushes and useable paint, and I found what I needed. The panel was painted and stamped with metallic Lumiere paints.  Now….what to do with it? I went for a very minimalist card that higlighted the contrasts of light and dark, dull and shiny. The base is stamped and heat embossed with silver. I think it looks some modern wall decoration….maybe? A very challenging exercise for me.

Make a Pop Up card. Oh dear! This one required a bit of thinking and engineering, because I don’t read instructions and just try to figure it out myself in my head. In the end I’m pleased with how it turned out. This would be the card where I’d show off and say “Hey, look at what I made!” I get a smile everytime I open it. 🙂

Now I’m off to make some more of those Hope Challenge cards.

Categories: Uncategorized | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “World Card Making Day Unity Style

  1. Gloria Cardoza

    Hi Terese, All three of your cards are my favorites. You are inspiring me to start participating in challenges.

  2. Awesome cards, Theresa!! I think the pop-up one is my favorite!

  3. Theresa,

    Beautiful cards! I love the whimsy look of the first card with the house and bird, but they are all great.

  4. Traci Major

    Theresa,
    I enjoy challenges, too…but don’t ever get around to trying them all!! These are great, the first one reminds me of the rural scenes on my Lang calendars I collect…and the second is just cool, and the third, wow!! You did it!! Those vibrant colors on your leaves rock…love it!!

  5. Great cards! I love the pop up card with the lovely trees!

  6. These are beyond fabulous, Theresa! Love all of them and each challenge offered a unique technique. These are so inspirational and I really, really want to try all three techniques. I LOVE stenciling cards, but have never tried a scene before. Will have to forage for some stencils like that. Love the pop-up card, and I need to be pushed to use paint too, but the results are so striking. Love these!

  7. Every one of them is absolutely lovely – and they must have been time consuming ! I really like the leaves fallen on the ground around the pop up trees! Thank you for sharing =)

  8. WOW – you are having loads of fun with challenges. I love them all! Hope you are well!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

