Hope You Can Cling To – Post One

As most of you would know by now I love doing card challenges, especially the Splitcoast Stampers Card Challenges. During the month of October they are hosting challenges to support Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Everyday, during October, a new challenge will be posted on the forum, and Splitcoast Stampers are asking that cards made for the challenge be donated to a Breast Cancer Support Group.

Seeing as I love challenges, and I love to make cards, and I love to give them away too, I’ve joined in. I’ve set myself a goal to complete all challenges. I have on my craft table all my pink things, card stock, ink and some embellishments. I’m not big on embellishments but with this card making drive I’m really going to put in a big embellishment effort. Some of my readers (you know who you are, LOL), will be most impressed with this resolve!

Every few days I’ll post the latest cards I made for the card drive. And today I’ll start with these.

The first challenge was PINK HOLIDAY – make a holiday card (Christmas, Easter, Halloween, etc) and make it pink! Can’t see it in the photo, but the embossing powder I used is clear, but when it catches the light a certain way it’s pink. Very pretty. And as you can see I’ve got an early start on the embellishments.

Second challenge is LINGERIE INSPIRED – something lacey maybe? I’ve got a box full of pretty lace, and this rose border one is some from that stash. The Textile embossing folder sure looks lacey to me. The flower and leaves reminded me of a piece of lace I had on a bra, that I unpicked when the bra was decommissioned, LOL. And just look at that lovely sparkly embellishment.

Challenge three – BRING IN THE BROWN. Pink and brown do work nicely together, so I went for the retired Stampin’Up! colour Creamy Caramel. I also used a seldom inked stamp set for this card, so I was well pleased about that. I like to get a lot of use out of my stamps. A very simple card, which I like very much. This one is my favourite so far. I’m leaning toward using this design for an upcoming shoebox kit day at my card makers club.

The last card for this post is for a challenge titled – UNSENTIMENTAL. Appartently having to NOT put a sentiment on the front of a card is a challenge for some. I must confess here that I generally only put a sentiment on because the style and size of it fits the design of the card I’m working on. Unless of course they are for a special occassion, like a birthday or sympathy. So omitting a sentiment works well with me.

As the weeks progress I’ll get some more of the challenges done and post them here, so stay tuned. Why not join in?

Categories: Hope You Can Cling To, Splitcoast Stampers | Tags: , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Hope You Can Cling To – Post One

  1. Gloria Cardoza

    I like, like all your cards. I have two favorites -The lingerie and pink inspired.
    I sense you had fun creating all these cards. They are fun to look at.

  2. I especially like that you picked off the lace from a bra being tossed. That made me giggle. I’ve been known to cut buttons off before I pitch something too! funny

  3. Theresa, these are so pretty! I love pink anyway, but the cause you support makes these more meaningful to me. I love that first one…pink snowflakes!!! The technique is wonderful. Love them all….and will keep them in my “save” stash! Thanks for sharing.

  4. Nice to see you creating!! Looking forward to seeing more!! When are you going to come to my house for a play?? My new room is all set up and waiting!!!

  5. These are all so lovely! Pretty in pink!

  6. Theresa,

    Beautiful cards. This is for a great cause.

  7. Traci Major

    I am so enjoying the full array of techniques and fun here, Theresa! All of these are lovely, my favorite is probably the last one, I am trying to figure out if that is the same CB folder with one inked, or what? It has so much dimension! Can’t wait to see your next showing. 🙂

  8. Robyn

    I love the bring in the brown! I don’t know why but it just jumped and me and said CASE me!!

    The rainy weather has got you creating!!!

  9. What a great cause and a bunch of beautiful cards!! Very pretty in pink!

  10. Pingback: 2010 in review « Cards by Misstreez

  11. Vicki

    Love your creations!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

