Not So Humble Flannelettes.

I don’t own flannellette sheets for my bed because I haven’t found a set that I like yet. Most of the colours are uninspiring and the patterns are….um….I don’t really know how to describe them actually. I just don’t like the look of them. Love the feel, not the look.

Then I saw these and I have hope that pretty flannelette sheets may soon be available for me.

These sheets are from Garnet Hill, a US shopping site for clothing and home decor. It was the site chose by Splitcoast Stampers Inspiration Challenge, for this weeks card challenge. After fluffing aroung for the best part of a week getting my Balloon Tree card done ( see last post), it was a nice change in pace to get these next three cards done within an hour.

I don’t often stamp a background paper, but I felt with this card that I wanted the white background of the focal image to stand out from the background.  I was trying to mimic the random all over pattern of the sheets.

For this card I just took the same idea of stamping from the first, but this time I filled in more of the white spaces with the green leaf stamping, and separated the trio of flowers into their own panels. At this stage I’m thinking, while there is nothing wrong with the cards I’ve made I’m not entirely WOW’ed by them either. So while I’m sticking this card together my mind is already working on trying to figure out how the create the look I’m really after. And this is my final attempt.

I’m very much liking where this card is going. Still needs a bit of work co-ordinating my  edges, LOL. I obviously could decide on clean, distressed, sharp or rounded, LOL.  Still this one is my favourite. Something about it appeals to me.

For these three cards I used ;

  • Inks – Kiwi Kiss, Certainly Celery, Pretty in Pink, Pink Pirouette, Regal Rose, Rose Red.
  • Card stock – Rose Red, Pretty in Pink, Regal Rose Whisper White
  • Stamps – Stampin’Up! Botanical Blooms and Warmest Regards
  • Extras – Cuttlebug embossing  folder Leafy Branch

Hope all my readers are having a very inspired day today!

Note – if you can’t see all the images for this post please leave me a message in the comments. I seem to be having a bit of an issue with it at my end . thanks.

Categories: Uncategorized | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Not So Humble Flannelettes.

  1. What beautifully whimsical cards and I too LOVE those sheets. You did a great job creating the background stamping too. Isn’t it rewarding to produce something so quickly AND be happy with it. They are fantastic!

  2. Traci Major

    These are gorgeous, Theresa…I’d have been really happy with the first one, but I do know what you mean when you have an end result in mind. The third is more indicative of your inspiration piece…but I really like the background patterns you achieved in the first two. Well done, lady!!

  3. All three cards are unique and delightful!

  4. Gloria Cardoza

    I like all three cards, I think thats’s the way our mojo works. We begin, keep working at it , make changes and finally we’ve got it. I just went through that for a day and a half. I do agree about the third card. That card is a WOW. TFS

  5. I love both the flannel sheets and the cards! Good job!

  6. Man – where have I been? You’ve been crafting lately — and everything is oh so beautiful! I’m getting back into the swing of crafting too, just joined a new swap group and we meet monthly. One meeting so far and I’m loving it! Hope everything is going well for you! God bless!

  7. Each of them is lovely in their own unique way; great job with the inspiration piece. Thanks for sharing =)

  8. BEAUTIFUL!!! I love the inspiration. The cards are so pretty 🙂

  9. Pretty cards!! What a lovely inspiration photo! I think the last card is my favorite 🙂

  10. Very spiffy cards – like the last one best.

  11. Theresa,

    Stunning cards! I love how elegant they look.

  12. Pingback: 2010 in review « Cards by Misstreez

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

