Inspired By Elizabeths Embellishments

It’s been many, many months since I did an Inspiration Challenge  at Splitcoast Stampers. Every Saturday ( US time),  a link to another website is posted on the Inspiration forum. The idea is to choose a picture/photo from that site and use it as inspiration for a card creation. Of all the challenges that are posted on SCS, and there many, Inspirations was definitely my most favourite. Lately I’ve had more of a leaning towards the Clean and Simple type cards, but I thought I’d revisit an old favourite tonight. We were directed to Elizabeths Embellishments and this picture was right on the front page.

As soon as I saw it, I knew what card I’d make. I wanted to try and recreate the monochrome look and I did this with my latest favourite card stock, Stampin’Up! Naturals Ivory. (My SU! demo kept raving about this card stock so I bought some for myself to try out. Of course I had to call her and let her know that I was now a convert and I’d probably be ordering more in the near future!!)

So, I see the picture, I knew I had to get out the Naturals Ivory CS , Tim Holtz Sizzix dies ( cagedbird and tattered flowers) and my Spellbinders Vine die. Since I was only going to be using one neutral colour for the whole card,I felt I needed to added just the smallest hint of colour to add definition to my elements. Here I used  Old Paper distress ink. I then decided that I’d need to texturize my TH dies as they looked rather flat on the card, so out came a couple of embossing folders. Lastly I added a small flower punch to the center of the tattered flowers as a final touch.

While I was busy putting my first card together, already another idea was forming for another card, but this time I wanted to get the look of the bars. 

I was really liking how this all came together so I went and had another look at Elizabeths Embellishments and found this lovely trivet.

I could stop myself from making this card too!! Now I’m on the lookout  for an embossing folder with a pattern that can create an impression of feathers, but for now I just use what I’ve got on hand.

I love it when my creative side is on fire and ideas are flowing. I’ve very happy with what I’ve been able to make these past couple of weeks.

Categories: Splitcoast Stampers | Tags: , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Inspired By Elizabeths Embellishments

  1. WOW! I love this! How totally creative and gorgeous! I love the monochromatic look so all the wonderfully intricate detail of your creation showcases so well. This is exceptional!

  2. Gloria Cardoza

    Theresa these cards are gorgeous. You should enter them in a contest. I can feel your excitement when the juices are flowing. Keep going.

  3. Theresa, these cards are stunning! GREAT JOB!

  4. Robyn

    Oh my gosh! I would NEVER had any inspiration from that picture.
    Thank you so much for posting this, you are making me think I can find inspiration from anything!!!

    Thank you!!

  5. Stunning cards! You created fabulous cards from your inspiration pieces!

  6. Traci Major

    Teresa, these are mesmerizing in detail and texture! I love monochromatic because it lets the design be showcased rather than the embellishments or paper…beautiful work!! I do think if you could find the right contest, this would be an excellent submission project!
    I love the inspiration challenge on SCS too, will have to try tomorrow.

  7. Gorgeous, creative use of your punches, dies and one color of card stock. Amazing that they were inspired by such a simple piece of decor! Thank you for sharing =)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

