Another Prima Butterfly

On Saturday morning my boyfriend asked me  to make a sympathy card, to be delivered to the recipient for that very afternoon. My mind was already on the job for the card, but I was thinking I could have  made it on Sunday for a Monday delivery. Busy as I was on Saturday, I didn’t have a big window of opportunity to make my card, but I already knew I wanted a relatively clean card and I wanted to use some of that pretty Prima paper I bought last week.

This was suppose to be a fifteen minute card, but it ended up taking a bit longer because I kept on making changes to some of the elements, as well as making several goof ups along the way. First I embossed the vine onto my Naturals Ivory card stock by Stampin’Up!  I prefered the size of the Martha Stewart butterfly punch for this card, which I double layered and lifted the wings for a more dimensional look.

I wanted to sprinkle a couple of small flowers along the vine, and after a few false starts I finally hit upon the idea of punching  the shape, using the circle pattern in the paper for the flowers feature.

The flower shape was then pressed over the end of a pen lid to create the turned up petals. This came about because I was getting pressed for time, I didn’t want to get more supplies (dimensionals) out, and glueing was a faster option since the glue pen was right in front of me. The little flowers are my favourite feature of this card.

At the writing of this post the card has already been delivered and was well recieved.

Categories: Uncategorized | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Another Prima Butterfly

  1. Gloria Cardoza

    very pretty card, Theresa. TFS

    Gloria
    http://www.gloriaslegacystamping.blogspot.com

  2. Gorgeous card! I love the softness and delicateness of it!

  3. Pretty card and soothing colors.

  4. Oh yes… leave it to a stamper to figure out how to punch the little flowers using the pretty design in the paper. Isn’t it fun to play with new toys! Anyone would have felt special receiving that card and would know that you care.

  5. I got to see this as soon as you posted from my Blackberry while sitting in the hospital!! So glad I’m subscribing. Just needed to wait until I could be at my computer to thoroughly enjoy and comment. LOVE the card, Theresa! What a serenely beautiful way to express concern. The swirled impressions are gorgeous. Love that sharp, crisp impression this made. And the dimensional butterflies/flowers are so sweet. Colors are perfect for the occasion. Stunning card!

  6. Traci Major

    Very beautiful card, Theresa! I love that it didn’t take you hours to complete, either! The impression die really makes this one, with the addition of the butterflies and punched flowers, all three make a stunning card! Thanks for sharing…Have a great day!

  7. Theresa,

    This is a perfect sympathy card. I love your butterflies!

  8. Pingback: Of all the things you've made in September. . . - Splitcoaststampers.com

  9. This is absolutely lovely. . . . the flowers sprinkled in amongst the butterflies are so sweet.

  10. Pingback: 2010 in review « Cards by Misstreez

  11. I love this card, beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

