Clean and Simple With Krafty Turquoise

While my mojo was in the duldrums I still kept my eye on one of my favourite stamping challenges over at Splitcoast Stampers, the Clean and Simple challenge. Normally when I do a challenge I don’t like to look at what others have done until after I’ve made my card, but this time around I had a quick peek and I totally loved what I saw. So I got an idea in my head about what I would create, slept on it and got up this morning to see if I could made something respectable.

I totally love the turquoise stamping onto the kraft card stock. While this card may look clean and simple, the execution was a bit fiddly. I didn’t want to loose the bright turquoise colour when I stamped onto the kraft, so I stamped a couple of base coats of whisper white craft ink. Then I over stamped the white image with Tempting Turquoise ink a couple of times to get a more intense colour.

I don’t often use whisper white craft ink because of the messy clean up. That coupled with the precision over stamping meant that this ended up being not so simple to make. I think I had about three attempts at it before I got it somewhat right. I like the illusion of it being a cut away to reveal the colour underneath due to the shadow stamping – a happy little accident. I used Stampin’Up! Razzle Dazzle stamp set for this card.

Three good things

  • I think I might be over my aversion to double sided tape LOL
  • I’m enjoying making a card again
  • While I was making this card a scrapshop rang to tell me I’d won a basket of goodies with same of the latest stuff from the recent CHA show. Woohoo.

Have fun!

Categories: Splitcoast Stampers | Tags: , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Clean and Simple With Krafty Turquoise

  1. Theresa, I LOVE your blog and your designs. They will be wonderful inspiration to our new blogging group. I’ll be in touch with official start times when our group is complete. Welcome on board. You do lovely work and we are elated to have you join us!

  2. Hi Theresa, this card is beautiful!

  3. I love the colors and the designs! Great job!!!

  4. Paige

    Congrats on your win!
    Your card is lovely!

  5. Enjoying and inspired! Great work!

  6. Traci Major

    Hi Theresa, the turquoise on this Kraft cardstock really pops!! I could see how that would be very tricky, but it made one stunning card!
    Happy to be in your blogging group!

  7. Enjoying the new glitz girls! I love the turquoise on the crumb cake!

  8. Theresa,

    Great card. I never thought of stamping in white first. Congrats on your goodies!

  9. Looks like my attempts at commenting has not worked yet. Hopefully today it will. I like your blog.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

