Inspired by Bird Art

It’s been a long time since I’ve done a Splitcoast Stampers Inspiration Challenge. I must have been very inspired by this weeks pick because there was a lot there that sparked my creativity. Time restictions saw to the fact that I only got to make a couple of cards.

The challenge was to go to this Etsy store for inspiration. Love this womans art style, and so must a lot of other people judging from the numerous sales she has made. The two cards I made were very different in style and interpretation. That’s something I love about these challenges – very versatile about what actually inspires you to create your card.

The first picture I chose was this-

I wanted to make a card that closely resembled this art work. I thought I’d have the right Stampin’Up! images to do this. The bird from Always was the first obvious choise. I had a couple of ideas about the stamp I’d use for the red flower, and I quickly settled on Echoes of Kindness. The tricky part was finding the right stamps to re-create the feel of the branch on the kraft panel. I was happy with the results achieved with Stem Silhouettes, Oh, So Lovely and The Snowflake Spot. And this is how it looks in a card –

I do think that this card, out of context with the inspiration image probable doesn’t make a lot of sense, but there is something about it I find very satisfying. It is a completely different way of stamping/cardmaking, and different is good.

The next image I chose for  inspiration was in fact the shop header.

I’ve had an idea for a card for months and now was the perfect opportunity to make it. I’ve  this cute and simple Unity bird stamp that I thought would look great paperpieced, with them all in a straight row. I love the colours and patterns in Basic Grey’s Spun Sugar papers, so I pulled out some scraps to make this card.

I just love how this card looks in real life. So simple but very fun. I liked it so much I went and made a couple of extra just like it. I’m thinking of using it for some card kits that I’m making soon.

So there you have it. A couple of completely different cards inspired by one art style. Have fun creating!! Theresa

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Inspired by Bird Art

  1. WOW – Theresa, these inspiration/cards are really great! I am thrilled with your talents and enjoy your creativity so much! GOOD work! I also want to thank you so much for your nice note I received in the mail — the card is absolutely beautiful and so is the heartfelt message inside! Getting to know you has been such a blessing in my life!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

