Makeesha’s Colour Challenge #17

Today is Australia Day.  Advance Australia Fair!!

I had a lovely meal with my boyfriend last night, testing out my new Weber BBQ. I wanted a rack of lamb but I was out of luck this time around, so it was just the chops instead. But they tasted good! Sat around drinking some sparkly and generally having a relaxing evening. This morning I was up at 4am, heading over to boyfriends farm – the young lads were going to go pigging and we were going to cook them up breakfast for when they got back, about 6am. On the way over we saw some wild dingoes and a bit further on I saw the tail end of a 6-8 ft carpet snake as it slithered off the road. I tell ya, 4am in the morning is not to be missed out here in the back lanes, LOL.

So after watering some of the farm animals, feeding the dogs, collecting peacock feathers, a cold bath ( it’s a stinking hot day today), and having a nap ( yes, I had a nanna nap at 10am, sheesh!!)….. it was time to come home and spend the afternoon cardmaking and try my hand at Makeesha’s Colour Challenge.

This heat can drain my creativity, so to help me along I decided to incorporate this colour challenge with an older sketch challenge and it didn’t take me long to go back thru Keesha’s archives and find Sketch Challenge #16

Now to find the right stamps. SU! Rose is a Rose? Nah. Lovely as A Tree? Nah. What about the last Unity Kit of the Month That I recieved and haven’t even looked at yet? Now I’m onto something, yeah! And now thatI have my new nesties, circles are not a problem either.

Stamps – Unity kit of the Month, August and December; Card Stock – Cameo Coral, So Saffron, Choc Chip, Very Manilla; Ink – Cameo Coral, So Saffron, Choc Chip; Accessories – buttons, Nestabilities and DMC floss.

I own a lot of ink pads, but not Cameo Coral, so my next challenge for the card was to incorporate CC using only CS and markers. You may start to see that I was challenged in a lot of ways making this card. Not least of all was trying to come up with something ascethically pleasing in this heat and humidy. Well folks, this card may have been a labour of  creative challenges, but I love how this has turned out. It only took my three hours!!! Seriously, I kid you not. But I have to say nothing got done quickly today, LOL. Hey I live in Queensland, thats my excuse and I’m sticking to it.

I don’t usually add in extra embellishments to my card, but today I’ll be different. If I remember correctly, they are from the Bacis Grey Porcelain range. Nice match! I say… that Cameo Coral doesn’t look half bad. I might get myself an ink pad and more CS. I used the last of the six sheets I’ve ever owned of that colour and that took me two years to use the last sheet today. LOL
Categories: Makeesha's Challenges, Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Makeesha’s Colour Challenge #17

  1. Love your design, the colours are well balanced and you didn’t need the Cameo Coral stamp pad after all. LOL

  2. Looks fabulous! Love the buttons and thread.

  3. simply stunning Theresa! Beautiful combination of colour and love the buttons and thread!

  4. Wow, so beautiful – love all the extra details you’ve added.

  5. Nicely done!!

  6. kirstyscardnscrap

    Oh My Lord Theresa! What has gotten into you?! LOL I love it (of course)! Just the right balance of everything! Thanks for playing
    Kirsty xx

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

