Time for some Valentine Love

 Hi Folks!! Surprise, surprise!!

It’s been two months since I’ve last posted a blog and boy have I been busy. In that time I went for nearly one month without accessing the internet. But I was so busy I hardly noticed it, or missed it. Here, in Australia, December and January are all about holidays – Christmas and school holidays. I love the summer school holidays. I always find that school has started way before I’m ready for the kids to start.

I’ve got a few cards to show over the next few days. I finally got a chance to really get into my card making today and I started with Valentine’s Day cards. This was the first one I made.

Stamps - Baroque Motifs (SU!); Card Stock - Pink Pirouette, Pretty in Pink, Whisper White; Ink - Versamark; Accessories - Spellbinders dies, embossing folders and SU! punch

I took an idea from this Spellbinders Blog post, and adapted it for my card. I bought a secondhand Cuttlebug a couple of months ago, because I really wanted to get some Spellbinders dies. Unfortunately I’ve seen way too many dies that I feel I just have to have, and I’ve probably indulged in purchasing more than my budget could reasonably allow. But thats all water under the bridge now, ‘coz I got them now, so I’ll have to use them. LOL

Most of this card was made with  the Cuttlebug. I used two Provo craft folders for the dry embossing and three sets of Spellbinders dies for the frame and butterfly. I’m not really sure how to incorporate a sentiment onto the front of this card, but now as I’m looking at it and typing, I’m starting to get an idea. So stay tuned to see if my idea is a winner or a fizzer. If it’s a winner, I’ll take another pic and post it here.

After I layered up the frame and added the first butterfly, I was a bit stumped as to what to do next. Since this was my first attempt at ‘just because I can’ card making ,after a couple of hectic months ,I was a bit concerned that I may have lost my muse. So I went rummaging thru my Pretty In Pink offcuts and found a scrap that had been heat embossed with something clear and shimmery. So I diecut another butterfly to layer on top of the first and punched out the hearts with the left over. As an after thought I added a few dots a Kindy Glitz for a bit more of a sparkle WOW!

I quite like the monochromatic look I achieved with this card, and I wanted to make the varied textures the main features.

As you may recall, I sold my house last November and moved into my new home last month. I just LOVE my new home. What I liked about my last home was the feeling I got that I was ‘safe’. Here I feel at home and at peace. The irony is that I would never buy this house, just not a good investment financially speaking, but I love living here. This house is the original home on farm property, so it’s old and run down. The owners live in the modern home elsewhere on the property. I sit out on my verandah and thats where I eat, have my morning cuppa, evening wine, or just sit.  From my verandah I can see for miles and miles and miles, down thru the valley and out to the distant hills. Just love it.

Stay tuned as I post some of the other cards I made today over the next week. I’ll also add snippets of my life over these past few weeks

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

