Sweet Birthday for Tash

 

I have a young canadian couple staying with me at the moment and one of them, Tash,  was celebrating a birthday yesterday. It would be very remiss of me not to make a card for her, so inbetween a lot of business that I had on yesterday I came up with this card.

Stamps - Unity KOTM, Image Tree Brush Letters: Card Stock - SU! Rose Red, Ballet Blue, Pink Pirouette, Whisper White: Paper - Basic Grey Lime Ricky: Ink - Stazon black. SU! Rose Red: Other - Prisma coloured pencils

Stamps - Unity KOTM, Image Tree Brush Letters: Card Stock - SU! Rose Red, Ballet Blue, Pink Pirouette, Whisper White: Paper - Basic Grey Lime Ricky: Ink - Stazon black. SU! Rose Red: Other - Prisma coloured pencils

Being short on time can be a bit of a challenge when it come to making cards. I had in the back of my mind that I needed to make one, but ideas weren’t really coming my way. I’d coloured this stamped bird image a few weeks ago just for the fun of it, and then put it aside since I had no other plans for it. I really like the doodled line art and it was a fun little image to colour with my colouring pencils. I think Tash thought I’d actually doodled the image from my own hand, but I had to confess it was in fact a stamp (from a Unity Kit of the Month). Now that I had the image I wanted to use, all I had to do then was come up with the rest of the card.

HB Tash Bird

The rest was literally made with scraps, except the card base of course. First I pulled out the odd sized blue scrap, and then I got to thinking about my scraps of Lime Ricky paper, which I thought would be a good match for this image.The tricky part was getting the sentiment on there. Well it wouldn’t have been so tricky if I’d put away the stamp I wanted. But since I couldn’t find it I had to improvise. That then gave me an excuse to pull out my newly acquired Cuttlebug and the Birthday embossing folder, and I ran a couple of small, and I mean small, scraps through it to get my words. I still had a lot of space to work with, which I filled with a cut-to-size scrap of pink card. I love those cut-to-size scraps as it save a whole bunch of time recutting. Nearly all my cuts are made in 5mm increments so even my scraps layer and matt well together.

I love a good card made with scraps, as it involves a whole different approach to being creative. This is not my usual style either but I had fun creating this funky little number. It makes me smile. And it made Tash smile too!! She claims it’s her favourite card yet that I’ve made. And since she has seen a awful lot of my creations that is high praise indeed!

Happy Birthday Tash. May you have many interesting travels in your future.

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Sweet Birthday for Tash

  1. kirstyscardnscrap

    Happy Birthday Tash! Oh and what a beautiful card Therese. You were busy yesterday!

  2. WOW, this is a VERY COOL card! I love the colors and the way you personalized it. What a sweetheart you are. I enjoyed reading that you do what I do … sometimes I just color an image and set it aside for later. Comes in handy every now and again, eh? Have a great day, Theresa!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

