Shape Up with Caardvarks

The latest challenge for caardvarks is to creat a Shape card, so I went for a flower shape. I found a flower template from here to get me started, and this is the template I used.

Caardvarks Shape Up

I used papers by K & Co, running them thru my printer to get the flower outline onto them. I figured that was easier and quicker then cutting out a template and tracing it onto the paper. I printed it out on two different sizes to get more layers onto my flower so I had a fuller looking bloom. The largest flower was matted onto Old Olive CS, and the middle flowers were scrunched up, flattened out and layered together. The top two flowers are a Prima and a folded flower which I made myself from this template.  I cut out some leaf shapes from Old Olive CS and stamped them with the snow swirl from Season of Joy (SU!), then distressed them to soften them up a bit. The whole flower was then mounted onto River Rock CS stand.

For the sentiment, I coloured with Ruby Red marker the words ‘just be’ from the Just Be quote made by Unity Stamps, and then punched out with the Designer Label punch (SU!). I then added the ribbon and brad.

 Caardvarks Shape up - close up

Those of you who know me well, know that I sometimes like to use the textured stamp from Oh, So Lovely to add a bit of colour to my creations instead of using a sponge. And that is what I’ve done with this card and as you may be able to tell from the close up, it gives me a different result.  That particular stamp has reached ‘tool’ status in my crafting.

Thanks for dropping by and I hope you are all having a great day where ever you may be.

Theresa

Categories: Uncategorized | 20 Comments

Post navigation

20 thoughts on “Shape Up with Caardvarks

  1. 3pinklemonade

    !!!OH – MY – GOSH – GIRLFRIEND!!! This card is so beautiful, I love the colours and the technique, just gorgeous! Your collage creativity really inspires me, I have never tried scrunching the card stock to distress it, but guess what I am going to try tomorrow?? I know you made this as a card but I would wear it on the lapel of my winter coat too. There you go honey,a 2 for 1 deal!!(hehe)
    have a great week
    Sally xx

  2. Wow … and again I say Wow … this is stunning. I love all of your amazing texture and detail and the tucked in sentiment is perfect.

  3. omg♥omg♥OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    sorry to shout, but WOW!!!!!!!!!!! i am…this is…ok, i think i *might* be speechless…which, if you knew me…well, just trust me…it’s BIG! 🙂

    i’m seriously IN AWE of this…of the process (i’m SO stealing the “print the outlines” idea!) of the equipment (i am BUYING that texture stamp in 3 minutes!) and of course of the **MAGNIFICENT** finished product. hope you don’t mind if i save a copy of this to my “inspiration” file!
    ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

  4. This is just simply stunning. I love it.

  5. WOW! BEAUTIFUL card!! Love it! So very pretty and wonderful!! 🙂

  6. This is GORGEOUS. I LOVE every detail. Delicious. Oooh – I want to have a go with those templates – thanks for sharing. 🙂

  7. WOW! Absolutely gorgeous! This card is absolutley STUNNING!

  8. Wow, this is sooooooooooo beautiful! It just jumps off the page! I wonder the effect it has in real life! Just wonderful! Great work!

  9. just gorgeous!!!

  10. love your card.

    M.E. aka CMCMaryD@SCS

  11. Still sitting here with my mouth open….
    Sheesh, I disappear for a couple of days and you come up with all this amazing stuff! Seriously gorgeous Treez ♥

  12. So lovely and beautiful!! TFP!

  13. Oh my heck, girlie — this is absolutely stunning! Your creative juices were flowing on this one! I just love it! I haven’t had a chance to play along with the cardvaarks this time — I’m playing catch up after a week vacation to DC/Virginia Beach (feel sorry for me okay). Laundry should be outlawed and paper-crafting time should be priority! LOL I Loved this project, it’s beautiful!

  14. Oh my, this is just stunning! Layers and layers of beautiful!

  15. Helen F.

    Pretty pretty flower! I never think of these templates…great idea for this challenge.

  16. This is very pretty! Love the aged/distressed look you created!

  17. Wow – this is amazing looking!

  18. This is gorgeous! Thanks for all the details…wow, now I need to give these all a go…and to go look for that stamping “tool”. Lovely, lovely, lovely!

  19. Pingback: 2010 in review « Cards by Misstreez

  20. Beverly

    YOU are the QUEEN! I’m telling you that everything you do is a miniature Work of Art. Thanks so much for giving us the link to the templates.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

