Brisbane is good for something, sometimes.

As you may know from my last post I had to spend some time in the Big Smoke last week. (For those that don’t know what the Big Smoke is, it refers to the city.) After living out in the country these past two years, I find I like going to the city less often. I do make an effort to go to my once a month card club so I can catch up with my stamping buddies. I didn’t know anyone that stamped when I first arrived here, so I developed a habit of going to the city for an ‘ink fix’. LOL

Anyway, since I had to make the dreaded trip into the city for some training I thought I’d make good use of a rare opportunity to visit a Stamping shop that just happened to be around the corner from where I was doing the course. How convenient!!!  Now I know this store stocks Anna Griffin which is what I was particulary after, but after a quick look around I found that they also stock Unity Stamps!!!! Before I left to go to Brisbane I was checking out the lastest CaardVark Challenge and noticed that there were Unity Stamps to win. I fleetingly thought to myself – Hmm… be nice to win something like that since I cant buy it. So image my surprise to see those lovely brown packages hanging on the hooks. BTW the shop is called Stamp and Scrapbook Madness which is in Cooperoo.

Enough about me, you’re here to see the card aren’t you???

Caardvarks Challenge May #1

I first stamped the sentiment (Unity Stamp) and then stamped a swirly border (Tuscan Rose) around three sides and then cut out. The ‘lace’ strip is cut out of Basic Grey ‘Porcelain’ papers. I added the brads which I found in the garage, LOL.  A bit of creative piercing, and there you have it. My Caardvark Challege card which was to create a card using a verse or quote. I also used; Card Stock – Pink Pirouette, River Rock , Very Vanilla and; Ink – Regal Rose, Rose Red, River Rock; all by Stampin’Up!

Hope you like what I’ve come up with this afternnon, and feel free to leave a comment.

Theresa

Categories: Uncategorized | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Brisbane is good for something, sometimes.

  1. oh WOW! i ♥looooooooove♥ the way you’ve stamped the quote twice and used the pink bits to highlight some of the words! that is BRILLIANT! (i think i’m going to have a try at that…tho i doubt i can do it as *neatly* as you have!) 🙂

  2. Cool – I love the quote and how the larger words really pop! Lovely patterns all over, thanks for sharing!

  3. What fabulous detail cutting … love all of the pretty swirls.

  4. Just gorgeous Treez! I’ll have to get a move on and get mine finished…lol! I love those Unity stamps and I don’t know whether it’s good or bad that I now know where I can buy them here in Qld!!!!

  5. What a great find. I really need to find a group around here to get my ink fix. I don’t have any unity stamps myself, how do you like them. Is it easy to use? Anyway, fabulous job on your card.

    It’s a good life!
    Terri E.

  6. Lovely card.

  7. Such pretty colours and design. Love the flowers.

  8. This is simply gorgeous! I really love the way you have cut some of the words out of another piece of paper! What a wonderful way to highlight them!

  9. I enjoyed your ‘trip to the city’ story! I travel for work, and every major city they send me to, I try to find the local scrapbook store. I’ve been known to spend more on a cab ride to the store, than what’s inside the store, but no one has more fun than lil ole’ me! Also, I wondered if you have ever tried Unity’s Kit of the Month? It’s a great way to get some hip Unity stamps at a VERY decent price, and you can skip or cancel any time. Just a thought …. but I hope you win the Caardvark Unity package cuz you deserve it! Great card here!

  10. Wow! What a gorgeous card!!! Welcome to the Unity family!!! smiles…

  11. Great card and WELCOME!! to Unity!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

