Back from the Big Smoke

I’ve just spent the past four days down in Brisbane attending an induction course for a new job I’m starting this week. I’m so glad to be back home to the country peace and quiet. My Card Club Day was the day after my course so I stayed down for an extra night. As much as I was keen to get home I didn’t want to miss this meeting. It was my birthday last week and I wanted to get all my lovely hand made cards in person, rather than have someone collect and pass them on.

Whilst in Brisbane I stayed at my friend Evie’s home. She is a fellow club member and talented stamper, so I had a bit of fun playing with her stamping stuff. I suggested I would do the demo for this months club day. Naturally I hadn’t come prepared for this, so the challenge was to present something that relied on some very basic stamping supplies. I decided to do Paper Piecing, and after a quick ferret thru Evies stuff I found the perfect stamp, and made up some quick samples.

CATS Piecing Samples

For these samples I used two co-ordinating papers, stamping the bodice one one and the skirt on the other. These were then cut out and adhered over the same image stamped onto card stock. It may be difficult to tell from the paper that I chose to use for the far right sample, but the bodice is the 6×6 version of the 12×12 Basic Grey paper which I used for the skirt. My supplies were limited so I only worked with what I had, but I liked the idea of using the same paper printed in different sizes for this project.

Everyone seemed well pleased with the technique, with a few of the club members getting in and making their own versions. We hold our club days in a Scrap Shop so there was no shortage of  paper possibilites. By the end of the day we had lots of pretty ‘dresses’ to show off. Enthusiasm was high that day so I was inspired to make up a card myself using the technique I just demonstrated, LOL.

CATS paper Piecing

As soon as I saw this spotted paper by Making Memories, I knew it would be perfect for my dress. I matched it up with some Bassill card stock, corner punched some notches, and added flowers and half pearls (birthday prezzie from Evie) to making it pretty. The stamp is an old one from Stampendous.

Thanks for dropping by, and I hope you are having a good day. I’m hoping to get a couple of challenges done this afternoon, and I’ll post them tomorrow.

Theresa.

Categories: Uncategorized | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Back from the Big Smoke

  1. Oh wow, that dress stamp is fabulous, especially paper pieced with polka dots!

    Cindy

  2. kirstyscardnscrap

    Oh so cute! Loving those dresses! I have two awards for you over at my blog if you haven’t already seen them! LOL
    Love ya

  3. Oh my..I can’t believe I missed your birthday! Happy, happy, happy belated birthday from me 🙂 I hope you had a wonderful day and I’ll pop something in the mail to you asap!
    As for your paper pieced dresses…WOW, they are gorgeous! This is such a great technique for clothes…I should do it more often with my Tildas.
    Good luck too for the new job ♥

  4. I LOVE LOVE LOVE these dresses! Color me giddy! I think the girlie-girl in me went ga-ga over these designs. Sooper Dooper cuteness!

  5. 3pinklemonade

    this is a gorgeous card Theresa, i loooove these little dresses, they are sooo cute. Do you by any chance know if that stamp set is still available anywhere to buy? I would love to get one of them to make cute fairy dresses for illustrating stories that I make up with my granddaughters when we sit at my pink table and stamp and play. Knowing my luck it isn’t made anymore!! boohoo lol
    Sally

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

