Faviana Inspiration

Hi folks, It’s been a few days since I’ve made a card. I did make some attempts but it all came to nothing. Yesterday I checked out Splitcoast lastest offering for the Inspiration Challenge. This week we were to use images from Faviana, a site for Prom dresses. The American Prom is our High School Formal in Australia. It’s a bit of a biggish occasion here in this town, with a street section is blocked off outside the hall for them. It seems to be all about the girls dresses and the vehicles everyone arrives in. My daughter loved to go down and be part of the onlookers crowd.

I chose two dresses as the inspiration for my card.

6162-front   5901-front

I really liked the cut away circle on the black dress and I knew immediately what stamp I was going to use. I wanted to introduce a colour to the black card, so I went back and had a look at the dresses and chose the pink one, with it’s little floral sprays in silver.

faviana-challenge-scs

I stamped the medallion randomly onto black card stock and embossed with my new super shimmery, glittery silver embossing powder. I cut away the middle of the circle and used the same image stamped and embossed onto Pretty in Pink this time, to fill in the hole (so to speak). The flower sprig was stamped and embossed this time on Pink Pirouette and punched out with the circle punch and layered onto the pink. The black cut away circles were on the table and I thought they’d look good raised up on dimensionals, so I used them on the card too. A sentiment, a bit of layering, and there you have the prom dress inspired card.

The circle stamp maker is unknown, the sprig and sentiment are both from Stampin’Up!, Carte Postale and Stem Silouettes respectively. Pink CS also by SU!

I bought the embossing powder, called SilverLightning ( by alisonellisdesigns) recently when I was checking out the new stuff at my favourite Scrapbook shop. I’m  not one to add a lot of sparkle to my cards, but I just couldn’t resist the sparkle coming out of that jar of EP!! Later I was shaking my head at my impulse buy, but now I feel totally justified with my purchase. LOL. It’s kind of cool to hold the card to catch the light and squint at it until those sparkles appear to grow. So now you all know, I’m a closet bling lover.

Thanks for dropping by. I’m going to take my super sparkly card out into the sunlight to enjoy some more of the razzle dazzle, LOL. See ya later.

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Faviana Inspiration

  1. Well done, a great creation, I love the silver texture and layered elements!

  2. Another gorgeous creation Treez! I can tell you one thing though….my dad would never have let me out of the house wearing something like that black dres…LOL!!! It’s gorgeous though 🙂

  3. Pingback: Love This Old Stamp | Misty's Mess

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

