Thanks Vintage Rose

Todays card is one that I made a few weeks ago. I was going to post it sooner, but I was on a roll with all the other cards I’ve been making and posting that I kept on putting it off.

thanks-vintage-rose

With this card I wanted to use my Stampin’ Up stamps (Wild Roses, Illuminations, and Illuminated) with non SU inks. The inks I chose to use are Tim Holtz Distress Inks. Although they are dye inks, just like SU, they are designed to be more ‘splotchy’ to achieve that distressed/old look. The colours I used were Tattered Rose (how appropriate) and Scattered Straw.

I’ve also used Distress embossing powder. It’s not shiny and smooth like regular EP’s, instead it is dull and rough. I used Vintage Photo EP as it has a ‘rusty’ feel to it, in looks and touch.

One day, when I have the inclination, I’d like to try this favourite old stamp set with pigment inks. You know, I’ve barely used my pigment inks since I discovered and fell in love with the magic of SU dye ink.

Onto other things. Today is turning out to be a better day than most I’ve had recently. I went to a job interview this morning and it’s looking really good that I’ll get a start with this one. I also got a phone call for a different interview for tomorrow. I’d just about given up on the one for tomorrow as the applications closed three weeks ago and I hadn’t heard back from them. All things going well I hope to get both jobs. One has 30  hours and the other has 6. Together I’d nearly have a full time job!!

Thanks for dropping by.

Theresa

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Thanks Vintage Rose

  1. Yay for you…good luck with the jobs! I hope you get them, but if you do you have to promise to keep posting cards on your blog…or I might have to come sort you out!!!!
    I’ve been wanting to try out those Tim Holtz Distress inks…and the Glimmer mists (do you have any of those?) When I come to play with you (or you come to play with me) I really want to try them 🙂 Your card looks fab…very vintage-y and shabby chic. I love that style but I’m not good at it…so you have to teach me, ok?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

