My first Basic Grey Challenge.

As I was blog surfing a few days ago I came across Basic Grey Challenges blog. It’s a place for Basic Grey fans to show/link cards that they have made using Basic Grey products. It just so happens that I have some new BG papers and I also make cards (LOL) – so I’ll join in on this weeks challenge. And the challenge this week folks is to paper piece.

basic-brey-challenge-31

My first challenge was to find a stamp suitable to paper piece. It seems nearly all my stamps are bold or solid. But way, way down the bottom of my stamp collection I saw From the Garden. Clearly it’s been a long, long time since I’ve used it LOL. So now I’m set to go, I have my stamp and I have my Basic Grey Porcelain papers.

First I stamped the flower onto seven (I kid you not) different papers – 3 green, 3 cream and 1 base. Then for the next hour and a hour I cut out all the individual petals and leaves, adhereing each peice to my base image as I went along. You could image all the bits of cut up paper I had at the end of this project. I wanted to add some sponging to create shadows on the leaves, so I cut a mask for the flower to do this. Next I thought the background/base was too dark, so yes my good friend, I got the scissors out again to do some more cutting. I only removed the base from one side of the flower.

After I mounted my image onto Mellow Moss, Barely Banana and Blush Blossom card stock (SU) it still looked incomplete. You know that nagging feeling you get. Then you spend the next hour or so looking at the card trying to figure it out. So after a lot of thought I added to paper piercing, and now I know it is complete. I really like how the photo makes the flower looks like it has been 3D’d, but trust me it is flat!!!

bgc31-close-up

Wow, did this card take a long time!!! I don’t recall making a card like this before, and I’m not likely to repeat it either. It will be a very special card for me though, because as it was coming together I knew my Mother-in-Law would have liked a card like this. She was not the frilly, sparkly, girly-girl type. We would marvel at the beauty of the magnolia trees in full blossom. I miss her.

Thanks for coming by for a read. And do check out that Basic Grey Challege Blog!!!

Theresa

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “My first Basic Grey Challenge.

  1. kirstyscardnscrap

    Just stunning! Can you whip one up for me??? LMAO!!

  2. 3pinklemonade

    i love this one too, so while you whip one up for Kirsty,could you do one for me too…lol lol
    Sally x

  3. LOL…knowing just how much time that must of taken I won’t ask you to make me one! But it is absolutely gorgeous…almost makes me regret that I sold this stamp to my new downline…I hadn’t even ever mounted it! I am just loving those Porcelain papers and I MUST get some asap 🙂

  4. This is absolutley gorgeous and what a lot of work went into it. Worthwhile for such a beautiful outcome.
    Thanks for joining us at BG.
    hugs Heather xx

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

