SCS Inspiration Challenge

To all my regular readers, all three of you I believe, I trust you are now well and truely over the shock of all this recent flurry of activity on my blog. What can I say? I’m outta work, the days are long, the evenings even longer. I’ve got a lot of spare time on my hands. With me and time it always seems to be feast or famine.

Anyways….. yesterday I thought I’d give the Splitcoast Stampers Inspiration Challenge a go. I picked a great week to start as I totally love the website they picked for the challenge. I believe I had only flicked thru about three pages before I saw this and a few neuron pops later I had the ‘card’ in my head.

ic176-skeem-1

This card required a lot of Stamp-a-ma-jigging about, hence the first couple of attempts ended getting trashed. But I eventually pulled my act together, devised a systematic approach to the whole – ink stamp, clean stamp, versamark stamp, clean stamp, powder, heat emboss – production. Let me tell you folks, doing the stamping one handed while the other is firmly planted on the Stampy-jiggy-thingy is a talent I never knew I possessed. It might also be worth mentioning that the right thigh region of my jeans are also stained with ink.

First I inked images, from Baroque Motifs with Close to Cocoa, then over stamped with Versamark before applying and heat setting the embossing powder. Now this is no ordinary EP. It is clear or pink, depending on how the light is bouncing off of it. In the first pic you can see the pinkyness. The next pic shows as just clear. I thought it would be a perfect choise after seeing the decorative candle. My swirly band is the Illuminations wheel, using versamark only before embossing. The brads, the only non Stampin’ Up product used here, are from Basic Grey. I like how this card can be oriented how you like, landscape or portrait. I prefer the portrait.

ic176-skeem-2

Now I want to talk a bit more about my new Basic Grey brads. As mention yesterday, I bought them to match my new Porcelain papers. But I’m thrilled to discover their near perfect matchability my SU colours. So now I have brads ‘in’ Whisper White, Barely Banana, Blush Blossom, Mellow Moss and Chocolate Chip. The other colour is a paler version of Cameo Coral. How cool is that!!! I may actually pull out some of that over looked Cameo and look at it differently now.

Thanks for popping on over for a read. Hope you all have a lovely Sunday.

Theresa.

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “SCS Inspiration Challenge

  1. WOW, WOW, WOW!!!! I absoloutely love this one! It looks like it took alot of work…but totally worth it for the effect…and I think I need that wheel now…because of you *THE LIST* just keeps getting longer and longer!!!! T’s just perfect for the inspiration pic too…that candle is divine! When I saw the price I freaked a bit, but then I saw it had a 90 hour burn time and realised it was actually good value….but as pretty as it is I’m not sure I could actually burn it…LOL!

  2. kirstyscardnscrap

    This card is so beautiful when you have it in your hands! You are doing some beautiful work Therese, just beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

