Trying a Splitcoast Challenge

I was surfing the net looking for a colour challenge and I thought I’d give the weekly Splitcoast Colour Challenge a go. I was up way to late making this card. I was determined to complete the project but as the night wore on my thinking got slower and slower and s l o w e r. Well after midnight I decided to call it quits and assemble it in the morning.

cc213

Yesterday I received my new stamp set, Rose is a Rose, so I wanted to make my card using it. All I had to figure out then was a layout, which came to my mind fairly quickly. Then came the actual stamping – and let me tell you folks that is what took the longest. I have a pile of trial and errors that were not going to make it onto this card.

First lets start with the rose. Step one was easy enough as it was stamped in So Saffron. For step two I wanted to use Close to Cocoa, and I finally liked the look of the forth  generation stamp off to get the look I wanted. But of course I had to go thru all the other generations to find this one – boy oh boy!!! As I was pulling my supplies together I decovered that I didn’t have any Bashful Blue card stock. No problem – I’ll just stamp a piece of Whisper White all over with Bashful Blue using the small flower from Rose is a Rose. I have to say I don’t mind the mottled result either.I then pulled out Eastern Blooms and coloured with markers (several times over). Next came the Versamark for the leaves, and by now I’m well and truely ready to go to bed.

So this morning I get up, adhere all the pieces together, add some paper piercing,a sentiment and a couple of brads and there you have it folks!!!! Anyways, thanks for dropping by and hope you have a great day (or night if you happen to be reading this way past any sane persons bedtime).

Theresa

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Trying a Splitcoast Challenge

  1. kirstyscardnscrap

    oooooh how pretty!! I will have to case this one. Day three of blogging…… Yippee!

  2. Hi there Theresa! Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on my blog – it led me to yours!! I have to say that I love this card! Love the colours, the layout, how you’ve combined the rose and eastern blooms sets and all the piercing!!!

  3. kristie1007

    This is just lovely Treez! I did this colour combo challenge too. I’ve posted it onto SCS, but not yet on the blog…saving it up for a slow news day…lol 🙂 I’m loving how you’ve done the rose on this card…that set never even made it onto my *C* list, but you’ve made it much more attractive than I thought it was initially…if that makes sense? Anyway I was wondering if you got some of the new in-colours? I was making a card for Alisa’s colour challenge tonight and I thought of you…it has Tangerine Tango in it and I remembered I wanted to tell you that I think I’ve found an orange that I actually like…TT! It sure beats that nasty ole PP anyday…pmsl. Right, it is past sane people’s bed times…so that’s where I’m going…’night!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

