KWCI #30

Gosh, it has been so long since I’ve done a Kristine Werner Colour Inspiration Challenge. I had today off work as I was not well enough to go to. As I was contemplating what I was going to do with my free day, besides seeing the doctor, Kirsty rang. ‘Come on over. The latest Kristine Werner challenge has been posted.’ She told me what the colours were, and my initial reaction was ‘bland’. In the time it took to get to her house however, some ideas where starting to formulate in my wee little mind.

111108-color

I ended up making two cards and have chosen this one as my submission.

sahara-brocade

  • Stamp Set – Brocade Basics, En Francais, Sanded, Party Punch
  • Card Stock – Old Olive, Sahara Sand, Certainly Celery, Whisper White.
  • Ink – Old Olive, Sahara Sand, Certainly Celery
  • Accessories – Round Tab Punch, Brads

For the main image I inked up the vine from Brocade Basics with Certainly Celery, and then using the Old Olive marker I created shadows, and this was then stamped off onto the Whisper White. The flowers were stamped in Sahara Sand, cut out and popped up on dimensionals. I had some vines stamped out onto scrap and I thought that I could use them so I cut them out and played around with the placement until I was happy with it. I also used the background stamps for the……well….er….backgrounds. Ta da!!!!

Satisfaction rating – 9/10 (I’m glad that I used colours I wouldn’t think of using myself and coming up with a card that really pleased me. I think it looks elegant)

Kirsty and I live in a small rural town, and in between stamping and card making I was able to duck out, see the doctor, get some x-rays done and blood drawn for testing. I think I was out doing this for about 45 min. Now folks I challenge you to be able to do that in the city. Oh, I love the convenience of small town living.

Categories: Uncategorized | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “KWCI #30

  1. Love the card, it’s very elegant and classy….but you are so mean for making me jealous that you live in a small town and I’m stuck in the horror of Sydney! Just for that I’m going to invite myself to stay and your house while I’m on holidays….then I can duck over to play at Kirsty’s too 🙂

  2. This card is so pretty, I hardy ever use that stampset and when I do it always looks masculine. Great job:)

  3. Love this card it is so soft and romantic….

    Mandyxx

  4. What you came up with is not bland at all! Way cool! –Sarah

  5. Love those marker shadows on the vines … very pretty card.

  6. How unique! I love it.

  7. Wow, this is GORGEOUS! I agree with Kristie, so elegant AND classy!

    I live in a small town too but sometimes, I still have to wait 😦 On good days though, I can see me doing the 45 min deal 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!!!

  8. I love your card. You worked the colors and images perfectly with the colors.

  9. Beautiful Card! Good job getting all the medical errands done that quickly. My in-laws life on a farm out side of a small town, & when ever we are they we need to plan the outings & always takes longer than you think.

  10. So pretty! I love it all. 🙂

  11. Very, very pretty!

  12. simply beautiful 🙂

  13. Beautiful! Love the popped flowers and your shading is wonderful- I never think to do that!

  14. Gorgeous! TFS!

  15. Very pretty!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

