Kirsty’s Birthday Card

I was reading Kirsty’s blog, and lo and behold it occurred to me that it was her birthday. LOL. Why I wasn’t aware of this before hand is just pure slackness on my part for not asking, and her’s for not saying in lieu of me not asking. Once I had knowledge of her birthday I couldn’t plead ignorance, nor could I just rifle thru my card stack to find a card for her. Noooo. I had to make one up just for her. Since my mojo has taken a vacation and hasn’t replied to my calls for help, I was left to my own devises. I was hoping to create a WOW card in a simple style, instead I ended up doing my complicated style and come up with this –

  • Stamp Set – Baroque BG, Paisley BG, Brocade Basics, Baroque Motifs, Warmest Regards
  • Card Stock – Whisper Whita, Orchid Opulence, Elegant Eggplant, Pale Plum
  • Ink – Versamark, Orchid Opulence, Elegant Eggplant, Lavender Lace, Pixie Pink, Regal Rose.
  • Accessories – Embossing Powders ( Gold and Angel Wings Peacock by MoonGlow), Sponges

I like to create layers with my stamping and because of this, there is a bit of a process involved. I also combined a few different techniques, just because I could. I must also confess that I was making the whole thing up as I was going along. I’ll try to remember what I did in a numbered order, just in case someone has the nerve to re-create something similar for themselves. BTW if you do make a stamping project like this, leave a comment as I’d like to see it too. Anyway here goes –

  1. Ink up Baroque background stamp with versamark
  2. Press Paisley background stamp in to the inked up Baroque stamp. (Kissing technique)
  3. Now use the Paisley stamp to stamp onto Whisper White
  4. Clear emboss. I used Angel Wings Peacock by MoonGlow (Heat embossing technique)
  5. Sponge embossed image with pink and purle inks (Emboss resist technique)
  6. Versamark vine from Brocade basic stamp set, randomly stamp over the top of the piece.
  7. Apply embossing powder and heat. ( Yes, embossing over the top of embossing)
  8. Sponge again with just the purple inks.

The stamped card was then cut to size, mounted onto Elegant Eggplant CS. The motif, on Pale Plum CS, and birthday greeting was heat embossed in gold, with the motif popped up on Dimensional. The card base is Orchid Opulence.

You may notice from the close up the added effect from the MoonGlow heat embossing powder on the right hand side of the picture. As the light catches it you can see a glow of irridecent blue and green.

After I finished making the card I was not happy with it and I was almost not going to give it to Kirsty. All my doubts were diminished when I saw the look on her face when she recieved it. Safe to say – she LOVEd it.

Satisfaction Rating – 7/10 ( I wish I was feeling more inspired that day. I probably would have made it exactly the same, just with a more creative attitude, KWIM)

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Kirsty’s Birthday Card

  1. You are seriously deranged, you know that don’t you??? This card is completely awesome!!!! I don’t know why you’re so hard on yourself….because you are absolutely brilliant…I never would have thought of that in a million years and it’s just gorgeous. No wonder she loved it 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

