Christmas and gardening

Here’s a simple card that I made a few weeks ago. It wasn’t suitable to scan due to the fact that the pionsettia flower was given a bit of oomph with dimensional foam, and therefore wasn’t a flat card.

  • Stamp Set – Season of Joy
  • Card Stock – Real Red, Old Olive, Whisper White
  • Ink – Real red, Old Olive
  • Accessories – Photo Corner punch, Stamp-a-ma-jig

I stamped the Swirl three times, overlapping each other as shown in the photo. Believe it or not, but I didn’t use the Stamp-a-ma-jig (SAMJ) to get that trailing thingy to match up right. I totally winged it!!! ( I rock – tee hee). What I did do, was practise creating it several times on my grid paper until I got it right. I stamped the flower onto the pointy end of the trailing thingy, and then stamped and cut out another one to layer on top of the first. When it comes to the sentiment I did use the SAMJ, coz I find that straight lines are just not as forgiving as swirly ones. Straight just has to be straight – right??

Now onto some news. On Friday afternoon I ordered a new digital camera from these guys, http://www.digitalcamerawarehouse.com.au/index.htm  Now I was expecting that it might turn up at my place by Wednesday at the earliest, so imagine my surprise when I had it delivered to my door at 8.15 am today (Monday)!!!! Now that is what I call speedy service.

I’ve been so busy in my garden these last two days. I got my mother to come up and stay over to give me a hand. I’ve been collecting pulled weeds and prunings for weeks now, but my car doesn’t have a towball to cart the trailer, which is where my mother comes in. Besides even if I did have a towball, my mother is much better at these things than I am, so if in doubt ( which I am) leave it to people who actually know what they are doing (mother).

I cut a garden bed out of my lawn about 12 months ago, and have waited patiently for the all variables to be co-ordinated (ie; mother with trailer, weather, money, motivation) so I could get a cubic meter of garden soil to finish it off. Well folks I’m very happy to annouce that it has finally happened, and this is how it is looking even as I type this post.

I got half of the plants in, but by 10.30 this morning I had to abandon it as it was getting very hot and I was getting very burnt. Lucky I had a couple of little helpers or I wouldn’t have even got that much done. I’ll finish planting it this evening when it is cooler and then i can sit out on my patio and watch it grow!!

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Christmas and gardening

  1. Nice card and an even nicer garden. There’s something so lovely about growing your own vegies…wish I could. Maybe you’re turning into a real farmer…PMSL 🙂
    Can’t wait to see it in real life….by the time I get there it will probably have something edible! Hopefully homegrown tomatoes….YUM!!!!

  2. That card was even nicer in real life!! And yes you ROCK for not using the SAMJ!! Way to go you!!

  3. What a clean and classy holiday design.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

