Ruby Roses

I was looking for some fresh inspiration using the Wild Roses stamp set. Whenever I’ve use this set I’ve generally stuck to the tried and true pink roses, usually inking in Pretty in Pink and Regal Rose. As I was cruising thru some online galleries I came across this card. http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/gallery/photo/996469?cat=7222

I knew I wanted to make it, or something similar, as soon as I saw it.

  • Stamp Set – Wild Roses, Weathered BG, Paisley BG and Lovely Labels
  • Card Stock – Bravo Burgundy, Ruby Red, Always Artichoke, Very Vanilla
  • Ink – Bravo Burgundy, Ruby Red, Always Artichoke
  • Accessories – Grosgrain Ribbon, Circle Punch, Stamp-a-ma-jig

Wild Roses is a Two Step stamp set. So that means you stamp one part of the image first, in this case Ruby Red. Then using the best stamp positioning system ever designed, the Stamp-a-ma-jig, you stamp the second part of the image over the top of the first. I used Bravo Burgundy ink for the second part. I did the same for the leaves, but instead i just used one ink colour, Always Artichoke. I always need to attach leaves to my roses coz I feel they look naked with out them, LOL.

I don’t often make cards with this many layers, and this one had six in all!!! The Always Artichoke layer was stamped with the Weathered BG stamp, first across the card and then vertically. After I laid out the flowers, ribbon and borders I felt it needed something else. As I was thinking what I should do, my friend Kirsty, was ferretting through her stuff and pulled out the Lovely Labels set saying “Oh, I forgot I had these!!”. “What the…., you’ve been holding out on me girl. Get that set onto the table this instant! I need to use it.” LOL. So I quickly stamped off and punched out the ‘Thank You’ label and tucked it into the bunch of roses.

Satisfaction rating – 9/10 (With all the layering and cutting out of flowers it took me ages juggling the pieces around ’til I was satisfied with it. Thumbs down for the wonky bow and the poor lighting for the photograph)

Thanks for dropping by.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Ruby Roses

  1. Very nice Treez! I like the things you do with this set!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

