Color Throwdown #7

Now, if I thought that making a card for last weeks Color Trowdown was tricky, when I had to use five colours, imagine how I felt just using two. I’m please to report that I did make a card using only these colours, plus a neutral of course.

  • Stamp Set – Petal Prints
  • Card Stock – Ballet Blue, Apricot Appeal, Bashful Blue, Very Vanilla
  • Ink – Ballet Blue, Apricot Appeal, Bashful Blue, Versamark
  • Accessories – Embossing Powder, Sponges, Stampin’Up! Markers

I used the Emboss resist technique for this card. I stamped my ‘picture’ in versamark and then clear embossed it. Now it was time to colour it with sponging, and lots of it. The green down the bottom of the card was made by sponge layering the Aprict Appeal and Ballet Blue inks over the top of each other. Pretty cool, huh?? I felt the flowers weren’t bright enough so I got my markers out that matched the ink and filled them in. As I liked that effect I thought I’d add a shadow to some of the leaves with Bashful Blue, which of course came out looking green!

I probably should have stopped there but I just had to keep going and I lightly direct stamped some more leaves into the background. Interesting that with stamping the background is usually the last to be applied. I was trying to create a ‘painting’ so to speak so I didn’t want to add any sentiment to this.

Satisfaction Rating – 8/10 (I liked the idea of creating a picture this way, needs some more work though. I feel it’s missing a bit of texture somewhere, somehow. Still have to figure that one out.)

Thanks for popping in to see what I’ve made.

Categories: Color Throwdown | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Color Throwdown #7

  1. I think it turned out beautifully.

  2. Beautiful! You did an awesome job and I love how the colors are layered on your picture! Thanks for playing the Color Throwdown!

  3. It’s gorgeous Treez….but I can tell you what’s missing: EMBELLISHMENTS!!! LOL

  4. misstreez

    Of course you’d say that. LOL I’ll send the card to you and you can embellish away all you like dear. It can be a collaboration work. Hahahahaha.

  5. Oh wow! This is beautiful! I LOVE the emboss resist!

  6. Ooooh, I love the emboss resist. I’ve got to try it!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

