Earthy Oaks

Last night I participated in a cyberstamp with some girls online. Three challenges were set and I completed all of them. Wow!!!. Now I’m not usually a quick card maker so I kind of had to let myself go and not get hung up on the details. Another ‘Just do it” session. Three challenges were set, the second one being to create a card using watercolouring. I thought the oak tree from Lovely as a Tree set would fit the bill nicely. I’ve also been crusing some online galleries and seen some nice watercolouring done with this one, so here was my opportunity to procrasitnate no longer about doing this for myself.

  • Stamp Set – Lovely as a Tree, Party Punch, Weathered BG
  • Card Stock – Really Rust, Old Olive, Close to Cocoa, Creamy Caramel, Whisper White
  • Ink – Really Rust, Old Olive, Close to Cocoa, Always Artichoke, River Rock, Soft Sky
  • Accessories – Designer Label punch, Aqua Pen, Mat Pack, Sponges

This morning when I looked at the card I felt it needed more work as the card was looking a bit bland for me. So I stamped and cut out the oak leaves, as well as lifting the sentiment to stamp the background leaf. I also put to use my new mat pack to add some piercing to the corners. As I said earlier, the card was originally made in haste, so if I had had more time I would have worked on creating more colour depth in the tree leaves and background. It could also do with some extra sponging too, I think.

Satisfaction rating – 7/10 ( I like the layout and the colours, but it needs more work. It was fun working at speed. Overall it looks a little unbalanced to me.)

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

