Dahlia Folding

The last card challenge set for the July Artful Stampers CyberStamp night was to create a card using Dahlia folding. To see how to fold the petals go here – http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/ee/index.php/resources/tutorials/dahlia_fold/

  • Stamp Set – Baroque Motifs, Warmest Regards (retired)
  • Card Stock – Certainly Celery (+dsp), Rose Red (+dsp), So Saffron (+dsp).
  • Ink – Certainly Celery , Rose Red, So Saffron
  • Accessories – Circle and Photo Corner punches, Stamp-a-ma-jug

I had to go find a card to CASE for this one so I found this one – http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/gallery/photo/846521?si=TLC153  For some reason I’m just not sold on me making these flowers. I like the look of them , I also like making folded paper flowers and I don’t have too much difficulty in folding the little cirles – but these are just not my ‘thing’ I suppose. Having said that I’m glad it was put up as the challenge because it’s a nice card/technique to have in my workshop gallery.

So, for everyone out there who has ever attempted to make one of these folded flowers, how do you get nice crisp, even folds on those little circles? Well, my friend, I have got some tips on this weighty question, but you’ll have to stay tuned. My camera is out of action so I can’t take the pics I need to upload.

Satisfaction Rating – 6/10 ( Workmanship is Ok, but overall the card just does not sing to me)

Have a great day everyone.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Dahlia Folding

  1. Oh, I can’t wait to find out your tips…I struggle with those folds, but I do like how the flower looks, so I’ll be happy to find some easier way of doing it, as long as I don’t have to cut my nails!!!
    btw: the saffron looks a bit like more mustard in this pic/scan….maybe you can replace it when the camera is back in action? I like it, but you’re right it’s not a 10…but I’d give it 8/10 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

