July Cyberstamp Challenge #1

The Artful Stampers July Challenge 1 was to use only two colours plus a neutral, only use one stamp set and one embellishment. Boy, how some of the girls moaned and grizzled about that one, especially Kristie (LOL). I found this really easy.

I got my colour choise from a previous challenge set by Alisa. We had to use Soft Sky, Certainly Celery and Not Quite Navy for that one. I found that having to use the third colour (NQN) was interferring with what I wanted to do. The one stamp set bit was OK too as lately I’ve been limiting myself to just using one set for a lot of cards. The one embellishment only was a bit tricky. Why? Because I had to use one, LOL. I was wracking my brain trying to figure out how to add something I didn’t particularly want in the first place. I used –

  • Stamp Set – One of a Kind
  • Card Stock – Soft Sky, Certainly Celery, Whisper White
  • Ink – Soft Sky, Certainly Celery
  • Accessories – White Gel Pen, Circle punch, Ribbon, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Sponges

I made this card a bit larger than normal to accommodate five full 1 1/4 inch circles across the bottom. I made a stencil with the punch and sponged ink through it. I used the grid paper to make sure the center circle was indeed in the center!! Then using the Stamp-a-ma-jig I stamped the flower on top of the sponged circles, and then cut away one edge so I got the scallop that you can see. I also went for a layout that was a bit more comtemporary – I was thinking along the lines of some magazine layouts that I come across sometimes.

And then there was the dreaded embellishment!!! So I went for a tiny bit of ribbon. I would have used brads if I had some coloured ones. The only ones I have from SU are silver, and I only got those because it was required for a catalogue launch earlier this year. LOL

I was asked recently to explain how I create some of my cards so that’s what I did for this post. I’d be very interested to know if anyone actually reads it, or more to the point, cares to read it. Please let me know in the comments if this is what you’d like to see more often. You see, I’m the kind of person who rarely reads the instructions, as I have a fairly good idea just by looking at it how it would go together. I just need to know what technique was used if it isn’t obvious in the photo. But thats just me and I’m a little bit different (just ask my friends LOL).

Thanks for dropping by. Have a great day!!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

