Alisa’s Colour Challenge 5

This is todays colour challenge that I found at http://www.alisatilsner.com/blog/?p=403

Photobucket

Alisa seemed to think this would through us in a bit of a spin. I pulled the colour scraps out of my folder, laid them out on the table and with a bit of shuffling of the scraps, a hand at watercolouring and a length of ribbon I came up with the following card. It was so easy to make that I made another just like it after I came home tonight. I’m not sure which takes longer to do; the watercolouring or the tying of the bow. Hmmmm……the bow gets the vote from me!!

  • Stamp Set – One of a Kind
  • Card Stock – Chocolate Chip, Ruby Red, Summer Sun, Whisper White
  • Ink – Chocolate Chip, Ruby Red, Summer Sun
  • Accessories – Ribbon, Boho Blossom punch, Cherished Memories rubons

I stamped large flower in Chocolate Chip ink and watercoloured with Ruby Red and Summer Sun inks. I didn’t worry about the Choc Chip ink running when I coloured because a) if it did run I’d just say it was the effect I was after and b) I’ve had a bit of practice *wink*.  Seriously though, watercolouring skill comes with practice. After a while you get a ‘feel’ for how wet or dry to have the brush tip, and just as importantly, how much water your selected paper can absorb before it starts to break down. The center of the flower is Choc Chip stamped onto Summer Sun.

Tie a pretty bow and mount image and bow to card front. Next I wanted to add a sentiment and I thought I’d bring out SU’s new rubons. I chose the ‘friends’ rubon because I wanted to see how it would attach as I rubbed it over ribbon and layered card stock,  and it was large enough to do the job. I’ve never really been one to use rubons, but I must say I’m impressed with the way these work that I’ll have to keep them in mind for future cards.

Satisfaction Rating – 10/10 ( I really enjoyed making this card and I’m happy with the end result). In future posts I shall give each card my own personal satisfaction rating.

As always, thanks for dropping by!!!

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Alisa’s Colour Challenge 5

  1. Hey Miss Treez…I give you 10/10 too!!! LOL!! This card is fantastic and your bow is awesome!!! I’ve done the challenge too…might post it later or wait til tomorrow….I’ve been working on those horror combos from Mad….I think the cold has effected her more than I realised, they’re way trickier than Alisa’s!!!!
    I totally LOVE SU rub ons…they are the bestest ones I’ve ever used and I now have ALL of them…my bad!

  2. Oh oh oh. I detest those colours but I LOVE your card. Well done you!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

