12 Tags Of 2013 – September

Hello readers. I’m back to posting the next tag in my 12 Tags of 2013 series and the next in the sequence is this September tag. Tim Holtz’s focus for that month was using stencils for layering pattern using different mediums. It was an interesting technique and I jumped right into experimenting with it as soon as it was posted. I had a finished tag which I then duly hung on my tag board….but…..it just wasn’t gelling with me. So last week I tried again.
.

12 Tags of 2013 Sept a

And this makes me happy. All previous attempts at making something turned out muddied and dull, which is why I had to walk away.  When I start out on my backgrounds I usually colour several tags at a time and pick out the one I like the best. This time around I was spoilt for choice as they all looked right. No muddy colours, yay!

.

12 Tags of 2013 Sept b

I started out stencilling Distress Paint thru a dot pattern. In the top right corner I layered a different section of the stencil over the top of the first to get spots on my dots. I then coloured the tag with Distress Stains using bright pinks and yellows. Some more stencilling is added but this time with  Distress Inks, to create the wavy lines.

.

12 Tags of 2013 Sept c

By now I’ve already decided that I want to use my  umbrella man stamp as my focal image, and he gets stamped with a permanent Archival ink in Manganese Blue. Somehow this image, when it was all set and dry, looked like there was sunshine on his shoulder while his head was still shadowed by the umbrella. Gotta love those happen chance moments. I then finished off with the radial stencil, deliberately placing the centre over the mans head. Oh and I should mention (for those that notice these things) that the pale wavy lines in this part of the tag are part of the first layering with the paints, not a top layer with inks.

I wonder, how do you choose the words to stamp onto your cards and tags? I nearly always choose mine by what ever I have that fits in the space I want it to go. If I find a sentiment with the right shape then I’ll read it to see that it is appropriate. I picked this one because it’s shape closely resembles the shape of the man. Do you make choices like that as you create with stamped images?

.

12 Tags of 2013 Sept d

And lastly a look at what the September Tag Wall looks like. I have a completed tag for October so keep an eye out for that one in the coming week. Happy crafting to all.

Categories: Tags, Tim Holtz, Tim Holtz 12 Tgas of 2013 | Tags: , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “12 Tags Of 2013 – September

  1. Hi Theresa, I love your September tag, the colours are absolutely gorgeous and I love the way they radiate out from Umbrella man. Your board looks fantastic too. I tend to choose a sentiment in the same way that you do – if it fits I use it! Hug, Anne x

  2. Love every one of them. Each one is unique and beautiful. A great display wall to showcase them. Love your techniques…so fun to see what your next one will look like. Hope all is well!!! Thanks for your well wishes on FB too. Appreciated it so much.

  3. The shades and colors really caught my attention. I think this is one of my favorite tags ever!

  4. Totally FABULOUS stenciling here! I love the ones you used…great scene with wonderful color! Glad you are keeping on as well!

  5. Hi Theresa
    Your work is always beautiful and these tags are too! Can’t wait to catch up again at next year’s camp!

  6. kirstyscardnscrap

    Hey sweet lady!! Miss you heaps. We need to have a catch up and do some creating together. Love your creations.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 300 other followers

