Spring Is In The Air

Hello readers and welcome to my new subscribers.

No doubt some of you will have been wondering what’s up with my extended absence from posting. Firstly, I’m not sick or injured, lol. I just gave myself permission to go off and do something else for a while. No blogging, Very little blog hopping. I have no commitments to design teams so I just quietly went in pursuit of other things for a couple of months. To refresh. Refocus. Re-energize. So what have I been doing? LOTS!

.

Peacock 1

First up, September was the start of Spring here in the Southern Hemisphere. This is one of the farm peacocks at the bottom of the steps, showing off his new tail feathers. In another couple of months they will be moulting and with 11 males on the property that’ll be a lot of peacock feathers getting dropped and collected. I don’t do anything with them but they just call to be picked up and bunched up. Spring means breeding season for snakes and we’ve also had a few of those at the bottom of the steps too. Yikes! One of the other  things I’ve really enjoyed doing is going to some local craft fairs. I steered away from papercrafting and went exploring and discovering what other talented crafters where creating.

I bought my first lot of Distress paints to try out. Ummm…….we’re not really getting along so well. It all started off badly when I tried to remove the lid like a Distress Stain bottle, unscrewing the black portion instead of snapping of the clear portion. I have a huge Seedless Preserve splotch permanently preserved on my carpet and shoes I was wearing that day. LOL Definitely need more time to experiment with those. What I can say from the little I’ve tried of them, is I love the smooth finish of the dry painted surface.

.

HYCCT  1326 Misstreez

I always keep October clear for the Splitcoast Stampers Hope You Can Cling to Challenges, which I participate in every year. The card above was as of my most viewed uploads and one of my personal favourites. It was made from my stash of inked and coloured tags. The birds and foliage die is a recent purchase I had made with winning vouchers and promotion codes, from Tim Holtz and Simon Says Stamp earlier this year. Thanks guys! And I now have another box of cards to send off to the Mater Hospital in Brisbane for the Pink Ladies.

And what happened to 12 Tags of 2013? I’ve had a go at doing the tags for the previous two months, but haven’t liked anything I’ve done on that score. But with sunshine and butterflies to chase I wasn’t going to dwell too much on my shortcomings. I’ve given myself to the end of the year to get my tag wall complete. Sometimes you just gotta know when to step back. My muse and I met up on other projects.

You can be sure to hear from me soon as I attempt to catch up on my tags and get back into a challenge or two. See ya then.

.

Categories: About me | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Spring Is In The Air

  1. Hello “old” friend! And that has nothing to do with your age! Good to see you back on the blog. I’ve missed you, but what a wonderfully delightful thing to refresh just the way you did. Good for you. We’re having a glorious fall….and not far behind will be winter. I’ll have to live vicariously as you enjoy the wonders of spring down under! Love your card….I can see why it was so popular. Beautiful. Looking forward to the product of your new experimentation!

  2. Welcome back Theresa! Lovely to see you again and you really do sound refreshed. Your card is so beautiful – I can understand why it would be so popular, the colours are stunning. Sorry to hear your first venture with the paints was not so good but do persevere, you will love them when you get used to using them.

    As you know, I took an enforced ‘break’ (lol) from blogland too but am feeling much better now. Thank you so much for your kind comments and well wishes. Nice to have you back my friend. Hugs, Anne x

  3. Welcome back Theresa!!! Love seeing your creations. This card is beautiful. The colors are just stunning!! ~Sophia

  4. Nice to hear from you Teresa! I was kinda worried with the fires there! So good to hear you have been well , busy and inspired in other areas. Looking forward to future posts

  5. Sounds like you’ve had a very refreshing break from Craftyblogland… and I love the card you’ve created there, with the colours of the birds echoing that amazing peacock photo. I’d say persevere with the DPs… I had teething troubles too, but wouldn’t be without them now!
    Alison x

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 298 other followers

