My Stamping All Star

This week at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge we were asked to consider what our stamping all star was. Is it a stamp or a colour? I was a bit stumped about what my all star stamping go-to was. I had a look over my room to see what image or colour kept making a predominate appearance. I try to  make a point of combining my older and newer stamps on most everything I make. However, some of my all time favourite stamps have not been inked in months. When I find myself reaching for the same colours over and over again I turn my attention to the colours that have made it to the botton of the stack. So what was my all star?
.

Work desk 3

Looking around my room there is one thing that sticks out more than anything else. TAGS. Lots and lots of tags made with my Sizzix Tag and Bookplate die. And not just tags, but the bookplates are very useful too. This is the place where I do 90% of my crafting. I did tidy up the great mess before I took the pics, so for all the normal messy crafters out there don’t feel intimidated by the clear space you see on the desk top. It won’t last, lol. Besides the tags in this corner of the room I also have them pinned to a bicycle wheel behind me, framed on the wall and my corkboard Tag Wall to the left. Am I a little obsessed?

.

Work desk 5

I use the tags to make technique samples. I limit myself to using just two baskets for samples and I will go to this collection to look for a tag base as a starting point or I may die cut them into other shapes when assembling another tag. Some tag swaps sit in the back for furthur inspiration. I also cut tag shapes out of that thick plastic used for kitchen cutting surfaces as they make good little pallets when I’m mixing acrylic paints and other media. So handy.

.

Work desk 4a

I’m always looking out for new ways to display my tags. I found this metal peacock decor piece in the local discount store last week. I knew I wanted his fanned tail to hold the tags and I counted out his feathers to make sure I’d get a full set of Tim Tags on there. It was originally an uninspiring dingy green and brown but a quick spray paint in cream made him more suitable to my needs. His tail holds the tags I made for 12 Days of Christmas 2011. As you can see I’m not a stickler for conventions or seasons, but I love the colour. While I was cleaning up the desk I also made a new arrangemnet with my vintage collection of bric-a-brac on top of the old pianola I need to share my space with. Love the shabby look.

.

Work desk 2

My other project for this week was to finally start labelling my growing collection of ever so useful wire baskets. When I made the big decision to purge and functionally organise my craft room last year I trialed a couple of small wire baskets to see if they would be suitable. I love them! I really disliked the tote that I had my most used tools in so I converted the items out to these baskets. As I tend to throw things willy-nilly about I deemed it wise to label the containers to keep me on track.

.

Work desk 1

I die cut aluminium drink cans with the square bookplate design from the Sizzix die. The labels where stamped with my old Just Rite alpha stamps and embossed in silver onto black cardstock. They dont make these stamps anymore but I find them so useful for making my own custom words. The finish labels were then easily attached with a couple of black brads thru the wire holes. I’ve been living with this new tool organization arrangment for about a month now and it is so easy for me to use. I can now see everything I need right within reach.

I apologize that my photos are very ordinary. . My little point and shoot camera suits me well for a lot of my normal blog shots which I always take outside in daylight hours. Not so good at the indoor shots. My next photography assignment thankfully will be outdoors as I try once again to get the neccessary shots for my Gelatin Print Tutorial. Crossing fingers!

Categories: About me, Tags | Tags: , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “My Stamping All Star

  1. scrappy

    Love your tags from aluminium drink cans. They look like some designer bought thing yet so much better.

    Baskets are my friend too. I love that I can quickly toss things in and have them in place and looking tidy.

    Drawers are my other friends. I can put them out, select and item and close them and hubby has no idea how many things are in there. LOL

  2. I have enjoyed a look around your craft room and can only admire your wonderful storage – and neatness (I know you tidied up but it still looks neat….). Hugs, Anne x

  3. Beautiful space! Love all those technique tags and the wonderful peacock. Thank you for sharing with us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog!

  4. What an inspiring tour of your craft room! I tend to be a messy crafter but try to organize occasionally and clean up in between. I love the peacock for Tim’s tags….did you see he is offering Creative Chemistry 102!!

  5. PERFECTION!!! What a super clean and organized space! Love those labels…the words and fonts are awesome! AND…the peacock is the find of the year! SCORE! It’s perfect to hold those beautiful tags! LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!

  6. Your space looks wonderful! That peacock was quite a find. And oh, I am liking the idea of limiting yourself to two tag baskets. Maybe that would straighten my mess out… a limit!

  7. Love your craft space. Everything looks like it’s happy in it’s place.

    Totally loving your Soda can labels.

  8. Hi Theresa…hope you had time to create on World Card Making Day…as here in Canada it’s still morning but I just realized in Australia it’s already over!

  9. Gabby

    Saw you on the SC tag thread. You certainly do have A LOT of tags. Your peacock display is very cool. You seem to be very organized, much like I’m trying to become. Hee! The tag labels as you have made them for your wire baskets look great! TFS pics of your craft space. :)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 307 other followers

