12 Tags of 2013 – August

Hello friends. Today I have finally got around to posting something for my 12 Tags Wall. Tims tag for August used an old technique which happens to be one of my favourites – masking. I got a bit carried away during the month and made several tags using the masking technique, but I only have room on the board for one and this is what made the cut.

.

12 Tags of 2013 August a

I bought this Tim Holtz Wild West stamp set when I saw it on sale one day. I liked that it was so different in theme to a lot of what I already own so I decided to add it to my collection. It’s one of those sets that I love to get out and just mess about with, so I’m pleased it finally got an airing on the blog. I used all but one of the images from the set, masking each layer as I stamped further into the background. Once all the stamping was done I then worked in the reverse direction, sponging from the background to the foreground, peeling away the masks as I went. The final piece of masking was a freehand cut edge to create extra clouds of dust under the horses feet.

.

12 Tags of 2013 August b

I totally forgot to take a photo of the tag wall for last month. Duh! First two rows are now full of inky goodness, And it won’t seem to take too long before the last row is full too.

Yesterday I could have used a real horse man, instead I had to rely on shanks pony. I was rounding up some loose cattle on a steep bit of country. I started out using 4WD but decided I’d have more luck if I just legged it up and down the slope. Got a great workout. On a more serious note though, I had to be self reliant doing this job as there was noone else around to help and I was so proud of myself for achieving what I did. Of course I rang my partner to let him know what I was up to and took advise from him before I set out. And in all reality it was probably a small job for any woman bought up on a farm, but I’m still kind of new to a lot of this action. Go me!!!

.

Categories: About me, Tim Holtz, Tim Holtz 12 Tgas of 2013 | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “12 Tags of 2013 – August

  1. Well done you for rounding up the cattle! I love your tag, the colours are beautiful and that horse and rider look almost 3D – amazing work, all round! Hugs, Anne x

  2. You nailed this!!! Your cowboy looks as though he is an inch off the tag…well done! The shadow is perfect, and looking back now definitely my shortcoming on my own tag. You are a master masker…lol! Love the whole theme as well! Fabulous take!

  3. Really first-rate tag! Brilliant shadow behind the horseman. I seldom see this technique, it adds so much and is kind of easy since distress inks blend so well. Your post reminds us to start using it more often.

    P.S. I envy your life on a farm, good on you for taking things on.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 300 other followers

