12 Tags of 2013 – July

Hello dear readers. Time for another tag for 12 Tags of 2013. When I first saw the tag that Tim had demonstrated I had an immediate vision of what I would create using some of the same techniques. But the reality of bringing it to life eluded me, lol. I always trust that my muse will be with me when the time is right. And that time was today and I made my tag with no vision at all this time. It was just some creative play time prompted by ideas that Tim Holtz used for his tag.

.

12 Tags of 2013 July 1

The background was brayed with  Antique Linen and Scattered Straw Distress Stains. Footsteps and text were then stamped onto the background using Archival Ink colours Aquamarine and Saffron.

.

12 Tags of 2013 July 3

My starting point for this months tag however, was these die cut alphas. During the month I’ve been messing about with my gelatin plate, experimenting with different ideas for a step thru tutorial and demo I’ll be doing soon. Out of curiosity I wondered what one of the prints would look like cut up with my Word Play Sizzix die. As I rearranged the letters to make different words and phrases I settled on an idea to use ‘style’ as my inspirtaion for the rest of the tag. I recut the letters I needed with grunge paper, glued the paper print on top and covered them with Rock Candy Distress Crackle.

.

12 Tags of 2013 July 2

I departed from Tims tags and went my own way with adding my ‘style icon’. I ‘dressed’ my Dance Card lady in some offcuts from the gelatin print scrap heap. I must admit I had a bit of fun trying different outfits for her to wear.

.

12 Tags of 2013 July 4

In a nod to Tim I did pull out the washi tape. And I also found a label from a  sticker book to use as an embellishment. Two items I’m sure I’d never use without a prompt. And note to self – wear glasses when working with small stuff, lol. And true to my usual form I completely omitted any other form of embellishment of the metal and ribbon variety.

I will let you in a small personall challenge I have set myself. I’m not really an embellishment Grinch. They just don’t look right on my stuff, if you know what I mean. So…..I recently bought a couple of charms that I’m determined to find a use for on one of these tags in the near future. Certainly before the end of the year. It can’t be that hard!

As I used my gelatin prints for the making of this tag I’ll also be linking up with Gelli Print Party.

Categories: Tim Holtz, Tim Holtz 12 Tgas of 2013 | Tags: , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “12 Tags of 2013 – July

  1. Your tag is gorgeous! I love how you coloured the lettering and the crackle looks wonderful. It is always good to see an alternative interpretation of Tim’s tags – yours is beautiful. Anne x

  2. Fabulous funky tag – I love the retro image and the crackled lettering looks amazing! Gorgeous reworking of the TH tag.
    Alison x

  3. Fabulous is right! Love those funky pants and the letters.

  4. LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! She is fabulous, and love the letters! Gorgeous color!

  5. What a fun and bright tag! Love the playful Gelli print clothing! So glad you shared this with the party!

  6. Reminds me of paper dolls we used to dress as kids, however this lady has style! I am so anxiously awaiting your tutorial on homemade gelli prints, of any I have seen, I love the ones you created the best!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 307 other followers

